Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Superb! Made with frozen blueberries instead of raisins. Topped with a simple glaze: 2.5 cups powdered sugar 1/4 cup whole milk (More If Needed For Thinning) 1/4 tsp vanilla 1 dash salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Have made Grandma Johnson's Scones a few times. Always come out nice and fluffy. The tick is to not over mix or need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
just the right amount of sweetness in my opinion! i used blueberries instead of raisins and sprinkled just a touch of sugar on the top prior to baking. lovely and easy recipe!! so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe! My whole family loved these scones,especially my dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariyaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gmorriello
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Definitely use food processor!!! I added 2 tbs orange peel, pecans and craisins! Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I just made the most amazing scones using this recipe. I didn't have sour cream so I used yogurt. I added lemon and orange zest and 2 tbsp lemon juice. This will be my go to recipe for scones. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never made scones before but everyone raved about the scones, so I will make them again. I just topped them off with some milk and sour cream before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Absolutely the best scone recipe I've ever made (or eaten). I love trying different add-ins each time. So far lemon/poppyseed is my favorite, but I also love them with dried cherries, blueberries, raisins, apricots (cut into small pieces), and fruit mixtures that I find at Trader Joe's. I find that I have better luck with dried fruit compared to fresh. I enjoy making them with my little granddaughter because she loves to help me cut them out. All my friends and neighbors are thrilled when I bring over a batch -- along with clotted cream, of course!!! I highly recommend trying this recipe. It really is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe. Used plain lactose free yoghurt a instead of sour cream. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States