Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made just the basic recipe and they were wonderful. Next time I will use some of the creative suggestions here to make a few different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
There wasn't nearly enough liquid so I added half and half. The dough was still hard to work with and when they were baking, all of the butter separated out. My family enjoyed the taste of the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made cinnamon-sugar "pinwheel" scones by rolling it out, spreading cinnamon sugar all over it, rolling it up and slicing them into little pinwheels. I've also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and a tbs of sugar to make chocolate scones. They're ALWAYS a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Hands-down, the best scone recipe I've ever used. Or even eaten. Not dry at all, the sour cream makes such a difference. They're addicting though, so I don't make them often. I especially like to use dark chocolate chips (chunks) instead of the raisins and drizzle the top with a tiny bit of coarse sea salt for the contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Best scones I've ever had. I added blueberries!! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Thank you thank you!! I made these for my daughter's birthday tea party and everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. I will certainly make these again. I did nothing to the recipe and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have never had so many requests for more. I've made these with cranberries. Blueberries. Apricots. I think apricots are everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These were a little labor intensive, but came out great. The sour cream/baking soda combination was new to me, but really made the end product light and delicious. I added about a tablespoon of lemon zest and 3/4 c of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Made the basic scones (no extra additions this time but will definitely in the future) and served with homemade strawberry jam & raspberry jam. Num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is great! I used organic spelt flour, and used organic cane sugar, and chocolate chips. This is a family favorite and I make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States