Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
i didn't need so many scones, so i made a batch of 4. i didn't have any cream of tarter and not quite eough sour cream, but my kids are CHOWING down these scones. yay! (i made 2 with choco chips, 2 without). simple recipe, easy to make. quick. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I usually find scones to be a little on the dry side but these are just perfect and soooo good. I tried an orange/cranberry version that I read from the reviews and it came out awesome to be the first time I make them. I got all thumbs up last night at my friend's place where I brought them to share. I'll try more versions in the future and this recipe is to be treasured! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
very good. will make again. key is to not overmix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Totally amazing, easy and almost gone. I made half lemon blueberry and the other half cranberry orange. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I did not change a thing with this recipe and I was amazed at how perfect these came out! The BEST moist, tender, flaky scones with just the right sweetness. I added golden raisins. This is a lot of dough, so it could make a lot more than 12 scones. This is definitely the best tasting homemade scone I have ever eaten. Sure to be a hit as gifts or at a brunch buffet. They are so buttery good I didn't even need to slather on additional butter. Thank you Rob for Grandma Johnson's scones. Wow. BTW I followed the recipe exactly; mixed the sour cream with the baking soda and set aside. It began to rise while I mixed the dry ingredients. I used cold butter and cubed it into the flour mixture and cut it in with my pastry cutter. Then added the sour cream mix and stirred in a slightly beaten egg just so the whites and yolk would mix in. Baked it in a 350 preheated electric oven for 15 min exactly. I don't see any reason to alter this recipe one bit. No need to cream the butter with the sugar (as another reviewer suggested) as I think that would alter the makeup of the dough. You want the marbling of the butter throughout. Perfect as is! If I could give this 10 stars I would!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catchyoulater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made these for the first time today. The flavor is delicious but they certainly were not baked after 15 minutes at 350 degrees. I boosted the temp to 375 after 10 minutes and had to leave them in for an addiitonal 10 minutes until they were golden brown. I hadn't read the suggestion to divide the dough into at least 2 parts but that certainly should be part of the recipe because these are too large when only 12 are made from the one round. My caveat on these, and the reason for only 4 stars is that they are really too rich. I think the butter could be reduced to 3/4 C. They are so very soft they can't be sliced and they spread out so much they lost their shape. Does anyone else have a suggestion for how to decrease the butter but still keep them buttery tasting? I used currants instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
great in taste and texture, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
These were amazing and made some gigantic scones!! Next time I will make 2 smaller loaves & cut them into 8's. Thank you Grandma Johnson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I was afraid of people who have experienced this scones to be dry but I had no problem at all. They were amazing, not dry and with a great flavor. I guess you have to be careful like with other batters and don't over mix. I divided the dough in 3 and made them with chocolate, walnuts and frozen berries. The blueberry scones were our favorite. Finished with a glace they were a nice treat in our 4th of July BBQ. Definitely will make this again and will add cheese and bacon for savory breakfast ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made a cinnamon version and a chocolate chip version. Even though I LOVE chocolate, I prefer the cinnamon, but my coworkers perferred the chocolate chip. The cinnamon contained cinnamon, nutmeg, and cinnamon chips. I think I added vanilla to both batches. I also found I liked forming the dough into a rectangle and cutting smaller pieces rather than the larger triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States