Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very moist, very delicious, very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are good, but honestly I have a cream scone recipe that is far simpler and more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made these tasty scones twice and the second time I used my food processor. That made it so much easier! As I dumped out the dough I added a cup of white chocolate chips and worked that into the dough. Then I split the dough into fourths and formed each section into a six inch circle. I then spooned raspberry jelly on one surface and then placed a second circle on top. It was somewhat equal. :) I cut 8 pie-like wedge pieces then placed them on an air-bake cookie sheet. (my other cookie sheet burned the bottom before the middle was done!). I repeated for the other two circles, making a total of 16 scones. To make prettier, I drizzled white chocolate on the top. They were fabulous. I gave them as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for supper?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was worried at first because the dough was sooo crumbly and wouldn't moisten up. I had to knead for a while, but the dough came out perfectly in the end! I rolled the dough into a log shape and sliced it because I was making them for my son's class and wanted smaller portions. They came out looking like biscuits, but tasting like delicious scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We loved these scones. Did a homeschool unit study on England during the Olympics and used these to accompany tea. Soooo yummy even without anything on them. Made ours with blueberries and followed recipe exactly. Kids kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
THE BEST I HAVE EVER MADE! FABULOUS.. CAN'T STOP EATING THEM, I THINK I"M ADDICTED! THESE DESERVE 5-STARS FOR SURE... JEANIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper Kukevitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have used this recipe over and over again and get so many compliments. I have a child who who cannot eat sour cream so I substitute either plain or vanilla yogurt (whatever is on hand) and they turn out great. Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These scones are amazing! When I make them, everyone that eats them raves about them. I follow the recipe pretty close, except adding a teaspoon vanilla. I also mix the baking soda in with the sour cream as suggested by one of the reviews. One review also suggested softening the butter and I would urge everyone to NOT do that unless you want flat scones. The butter should be cold and cut into the flour just like most pastries. I use my food processor. Makes a huge difference in the outcome. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Best scone recipe I've ever tried! My husband has asked me to make this almost every weekend using raisins, dried cranberries or chocolate chips. I actually don't roll the dough out and cut into wedges, but rather just place large scopes of dough on a cookie sheet. Works fine for me. Great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and couldn't have been happier with the outcome. The scones were delicious. I had a very happy husband who has asked me to make them at least once a month from now on! Next time I may try cutting them a tad smaller as one was too big for me and I will try some of the other suggested variations. I also made the Devonshire Cream recipe which was perfect with a little lemon curd. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy3317

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States