Grandma Jensen's Nuts and Bolts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The recipe states it makes 12 cups which isn't correct as all the cereals, crackers, and nuts = 14 cups. I used oyster crackers instead of the cheese crackers, Crispix in place of the oat cereal, and shredded wheat bites in place of one of the Chex cereals. I decided to put it in my crock pot. It filled the crock pot completely. I didn't think to use a vented lid in place of the normal crock pot lid so the top layer of the mixture ended up a little soggy from moisture. I don't know if I would make this particular recipe again--it was OK but, sogginess aside, it didn't "wow" me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good and I did not think it had too much butter and as QUANVON stated it was not too much "worK" - maybe if you don't cook it's work but I can't think of anything easier. I added some Brazil nuts and roasted pecans but all in all it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Cut back the butter to 3/4 and add a tad more Worcestier sauce and cut back a bit on all the salty additives and it would be perfect. Bake at 250 for first 45 min while turning every 15 and bump up the heat a tad for last 15 min to help dry out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Beckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I use Cracklin Oat Bran instead of Cheerios. The sweetness adds a great mix to the salt. That is my family's favorite part. I don't use any crackers or cheesy anything. I also soak my nuts in the butter mixture before tossing them into the cereal mixture. They absorb the seasoning better that way. I bake at 350 for 30 minutes as it browns it a little more. I add about 1-2 teaspoons of Cayenne pepper according to how spicy you like it. Definitely a crowd pleaser. I have friends ask me every year if I am making my Texas Trash! Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luanne Thomas Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Was ok. A lot of work to create something that tasted just like nuts and bolts! Much cheaper and faster to just buy it! Had reduced butter as suggested and added onion powder, didn't have a ton of taste, but could taste onion/garlic kick slightly afterwards. I'm sure it wasn't too pleasant to talk to me after eating these as you could smell the garlic/onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Too much butter! Also missing garlic powder, onion powder or celery salt! My aunt uses garlic salt, onion salt and celery salt, but I find that too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Use your imagination to add or substitute to this great basic recipe. Original? No. Chex Mix recipes abound on wheat, rice, and corn chex cereal boxes. We've had this on hand during winter holidays for nearly 40 years. Don't hesitate - you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have these in the oven right now, and the smell is heavenly! I do this recipe exactly the way it is written, and it's always a HUGE hit! I made a double batch last year for gifts at Christmas time, and people were asking for the recipe. The only change this year was I couldn't find any Rice Chex (only corn), so I ended up adding a bit of extra of everything else. Still, it's going to taste great, and I'm going to devour quite a bit myself! Thanks so much for posting the wonderful, classic nuts and bolts recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I have migraine headaches and it is hard to find snacks that do not have what I call "the evil" MSG which is a trigger for headaches for me. So many of the homemade snacks have Ranch Dip mix that contain MSG so this one is perfect. This is delicious and perfect for parties. I had to omit the cheese crackers for the same reason but easily switched them for oyster crackers and the taste was great. I found I could also use popcorn or wheat crackers for a different flavor. Thanks Grandma Jensen and allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My family has made a similiar mix for years but we add a package of onion soup mix (or for garlic lovers - onion and roasted garlic soup mix) to melting butter. I also toast everything except the cheese crackers, and add them when the mix is cooled. Try some hickory potato sticks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States