Grandma Jensen's Nuts and Bolts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Was ok. A lot of work to create something that tasted just like nuts and bolts! Much cheaper and faster to just buy it! Had reduced butter as suggested and added onion powder, didn't have a ton of taste, but could taste onion/garlic kick slightly afterwards. I'm sure it wasn't too pleasant to talk to me after eating these as you could smell the garlic/onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Too much butter! Also missing garlic powder, onion powder or celery salt! My aunt uses garlic salt, onion salt and celery salt, but I find that too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Use your imagination to add or substitute to this great basic recipe. Original? No. Chex Mix recipes abound on wheat, rice, and corn chex cereal boxes. We've had this on hand during winter holidays for nearly 40 years. Don't hesitate - you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have these in the oven right now, and the smell is heavenly! I do this recipe exactly the way it is written, and it's always a HUGE hit! I made a double batch last year for gifts at Christmas time, and people were asking for the recipe. The only change this year was I couldn't find any Rice Chex (only corn), so I ended up adding a bit of extra of everything else. Still, it's going to taste great, and I'm going to devour quite a bit myself! Thanks so much for posting the wonderful, classic nuts and bolts recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I have migraine headaches and it is hard to find snacks that do not have what I call "the evil" MSG which is a trigger for headaches for me. So many of the homemade snacks have Ranch Dip mix that contain MSG so this one is perfect. This is delicious and perfect for parties. I had to omit the cheese crackers for the same reason but easily switched them for oyster crackers and the taste was great. I found I could also use popcorn or wheat crackers for a different flavor. Thanks Grandma Jensen and allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My family has made a similiar mix for years but we add a package of onion soup mix (or for garlic lovers - onion and roasted garlic soup mix) to melting butter. I also toast everything except the cheese crackers, and add them when the mix is cooled. Try some hickory potato sticks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very good recipe. I added some chili powder and onion powder for a little extra flavour. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My mom used to make this, but now has dementia and we couldn't find the recipe. So happy to have it now. We substitute "Goldfish" for the cheese crackers. Nice to have an old friend back for the holidays. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made with a bunch of stuff in my cupboards (cheerios, gold fish crackers, pretzels, shreddies, etc.). Kept the sauce as written. Tasty and crunchy! Love it and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Yummy! Unfortunately you can't double the recipe because it completely fills a large mixing bowl. I might try it with less butter next time so it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

How to Toast Nuts

See how to toast raw nuts to draw out flavors and aromas—and get storage tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States