Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I love this so much, it could easily be my favorite red cabbage recipe. Perfect as written, no substitutions, no additions! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I used to get this same red cabbage at alittle resturant inside a cattle sells barn in west , tx. (same town they have the world famous westfest) I have looked everwhere for it and now my life is complete,I did add 1tsp. of carraway seeds to give it a little rye bread flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I made it for an Oktoberfest inspired b-day party. It smelled awful while it was cooking so I was a little nervous but the results were well worth the smell. The only problem I had was I wish I had made more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Outstanding, better than the restaurant fare. Husband and I ate almost all of it. Made just as described, with just cutting back on the vinegar, sugar and spices a bit, figured I could add more at end it need be. It was a small head of cabbage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner because my husband and grandmother wanted it. Growing up I disliked sweet/sour cabbage, and how it smells while cooking , but after tasting - I am a convert! The only addition I made was to add one diced onion. Many other family members who don't eat cabbage loved it too. We ended up with an empty bowl and I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Delicious! Didn't know red cabbage could taste so good. I will cut the sugar by half next time and perhaps use an additional apple to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I recently went to dinner at my extended family's home and they served up this dish. It was absolutely fantastic! Admittedly, I enjoy cabbage. Admittedly, I am not big on cloves. But, put together and is terribly tasty. After I found out the recipe was from here I immediately looked it up and was surprised by what little feedback there was. I must say I probably would have skipped this recipe over with so few people having tried it. How great that I was able to have an opportunity to try this keeper of a recipe. It is on my stove as we speak (really) and I am going to cook it just as directed for the full 2 hours. I know first hand it is worth it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've never had this before, but I made it today for a German themed dinner. It is AMAZING! The only thing I did was add a chopped onion, and I put a little more clove in it (because I LOVE clove and thought it would be great with this). Another lady brought a different version of this and put Caraway seed in hers. It may be good in this recipe for something different. :) Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
YUM, YUM, YUM! I doubled the recipe and kept eating it as it was cooking. DELICIOUS! I don't usually make recipes as they are printed - have to do my own thing - but I did this one exactly as printed. I really could have kept eating it all!! But I restrained myself - with great difficulty. Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Oh My Goodness, this is wonderful. I actually served it at room temperature. It was a perfect condiment to add to our ham dinner. It was wonderful tested whiile warm, terrific at room temperature and eaqually wonderful cold from the refrigerator. Will definiely make this again. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. SUPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States