Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Found a head of organic red cabbage for a price I couldn't refuse. Cooked it this way. We loved it! Used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband wanted traditional sauerbraten with a side of German red cabbage. In the past I've bought this in the jar, not realizing how simple it was to make from scratch. Since our rural grocer did not stock the jarred German red cabbage, I was rescued by this recipe. I did add an extra apple. I assume the apples were to be peeled and did so. The apples cooked up as expected adding just the right something to the cabbage. We both thought this was delicious. No more jars for us. This was perfect with the Traditional Sauerbraten found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have been trying for years to get just the right taste for the red cabbage. This is it. Now I don't have to go to a German Restaurant when I get hungry for a Bavarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I have always loved German Red Cabbage, but just didn't realize how simple it is to make. I added cinnamon to mine, as well, and really liked what it added. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe, came out So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I had two heads of CSA red cabbage and was trying to find a way to use them. One went to this recipe, made with about 1/8 cup of sugar, but otherwise followed. It was tasty enough. I should have peeled the apples, I wondered but since the instructions gave no help I didn't and we all ended up picking out green apple skins. I made Jagerschnitzel along with this and we had our own little Oktoberfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was so good. Mike and I ate extra helpings. Liked that there was still a little bit of crispness to the cabbage. Mine had got totally limp after 1 and a half hours of cooking. The flavor was delcious with the Saurebraten I made for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I thought this was very good and I will certainly make it again. I think I might add more apples. While it was tasty, and my husband enjoyed it (while admitting he doesn't usually care for cabbage), it didn't quite live up to the reviews, in my opinion. I may also have been judging it against the red cabbage at a local restaurant, which is truly addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I cook a German dinner once a month for 45 people at an upscale living center. I use this recipe each time. It is fantastic. I have to make more each month, because they like it so much. Who would ever think red cabbage could taste so good? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States