Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
this was great, I have always wanted a recipe for Red Cabbage and now I have found one. My daughter and I truly enjoyed this recipe and this will definitely be a keeper. I reduced the sugar and this turned out great. Next time I will reduce the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
A fantastic recipe. I made it to a T, except for using only 3 tablespoons sugar, less salt, and using red wine vinegar because I didn't have apple cider vinegar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is really good. For the first time, I made it as written except I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar and added garlic. Couldn't stop eating. It's so good and appetising!! Now I make my own variations. I used EVOO instead of butter. I added mustard seeds and I also lightly crush the black peppercorns. I like to bite on them! I added onions too. I tripled the recipe, threw all into the slow cooker and cooked on high for 4 hours. I'd put them in jars and refrigerate them. Used them like pickles or relish for burgers/sandwiches. I served them whenever I serve roasts or fried meats. It gives a sharp refreshing contrast of taste and flavour. I even put a small amount on small squares of toasts and ham, topped with a dot of mustard. Served them as tapas with a big icy jug of sangria. It was very popular. I've even had it for breakfast with fried eggs and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
It's Octoberfest in Texas and German fare is definitely on the menu. This is authentic tasting! Served with weiner schnitzel, rouladen,wurst, and spatzle and (some beer)............and you can have your own Octoberfest/Wurstfest! There are some very good recipes for German potato salad on this site. Great ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years. I cut back on sugar a little. Add just a touch of beer when cooking.I serve whenever I make perogies. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe, only thing it needed was raisins. Easy to make either on the stove or in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
it was good, less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
THis was awesome and everyone loved it. made it for my oktoberfest girls nite and served with sauerbraten and german potato salad...yum! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Just like my mother in-laws cabbage that she makes in north Germany :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very tasty! I used caraway seeds instead of cloves. Next time I will cut back a tad on the sugar. Thanks for sharing, we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States