Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent. I made 2 small changes that had been suggested. I added about 1/4 c diced onions (sauted) and 2 strips of crumbled bacon. I think they added to the recipe but the recipe is just so good. I have eaten a lot of red cabbage at German restaurants and this is the best I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Just like my grandmother used to make....I remember her making this when I was a young girl. She died before I learned to cook and didn't have the time for her to teach me. My husband and I both had German grandmothers and this recipe is absolutely the best!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Perfect. It tastes just like the red cabbage at Edelweiss Restaurant in Fort Worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Such a hit!! We did not have any green apples on hand, so omitted them and it was still fabulous. Good alternative for boiled-to-death green cabbage the next time you make corned beef! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I cut down on the sugar and salt. Tasted it after the 2 hours cooking and it was OK but too sweet and sour. Looked over the recipe again and realized I'd forgotten the butter! Shot a pat or so in and cooked for another 45 min and tasted again and it was fantastic. The butter gives a rich earthiness so don't omit it. My Papa is coming over for dinner for a German meal. Rouladen, Spaezle & Red cabbage. Can't wait to see what he thinks because we usually cook it with caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband loves, loves, loves red cabbage. In an effort to get away from store bought jar type foods, I made this up for him. It was a hit for sure and makes a lot more than feeding just four people - it lasts in the refrigerator for at least a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Not only delicious but incredibly healthy! Par-cooked cabbage releases much more nutrients than raw. I used stevia instead of sugar and less salt (added a pinch of caraway seeds for punch). I made a double recipe hoping to have left overs but the bowl was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I love German red cabbage so decided to try this along with a sauerbraten which recipe I found on this site as well. All in all the meal was just TOO sour and I didn't enjoy ANYTHING. I doubled the recipe and all leftovers got tossed. I'm still giving this 4 stars b/c it's not the cabbage's fault I made such a sour meal. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
There's a very good German restaurant in town that makes a delicious red cabbage. I think this is better. Like some other reviewers I used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup to balance with the vinegar. Next time I might not use the full amount of cloves; to me its very close to being too strong for this recipe. This was not difficult to make, especially if you have a good food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I doubled the recipe so I could use a whole head of cabbage. I also added an apple and used honey instead of sugar. This made a great twist on a reuben sandwich. I put it on good bread with roast beef and swiss. grilled it up and enjoyed. Lots of flavor and good texture. It can be frozen so I have no problem with making a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States