Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I have always loved German Red Cabbage, but just didn't realize how simple it is to make. I added cinnamon to mine, as well, and really liked what it added. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe, came out So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I had two heads of CSA red cabbage and was trying to find a way to use them. One went to this recipe, made with about 1/8 cup of sugar, but otherwise followed. It was tasty enough. I should have peeled the apples, I wondered but since the instructions gave no help I didn't and we all ended up picking out green apple skins. I made Jagerschnitzel along with this and we had our own little Oktoberfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was so good. Mike and I ate extra helpings. Liked that there was still a little bit of crispness to the cabbage. Mine had got totally limp after 1 and a half hours of cooking. The flavor was delcious with the Saurebraten I made for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I thought this was very good and I will certainly make it again. I think I might add more apples. While it was tasty, and my husband enjoyed it (while admitting he doesn't usually care for cabbage), it didn't quite live up to the reviews, in my opinion. I may also have been judging it against the red cabbage at a local restaurant, which is truly addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I cook a German dinner once a month for 45 people at an upscale living center. I use this recipe each time. It is fantastic. I have to make more each month, because they like it so much. Who would ever think red cabbage could taste so good? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was delicious, even though I somehow managed to burn the cabbage. After only 1 hour of simmering on low heat, the bottom of my pot was completely burned, along with a lot of the cabbage. If anyone has any suggestions about what could have caused this, please let me know. The recipe says to add only 3 tablespoons of water, but maybe more is needed. The unburned part of the cabbage was delicious! This is a wonderful dish, and I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is SO GOOD! Almost better than how delicious it is is the fact that it's super easy to prepare. Definitely recommend cooking for the full two hours, also I added one chopped onion. I will be making this again...and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Will cut the vinegar back the next time I double this recipe. A tad too tart, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States