Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
There's a very good German restaurant in town that makes a delicious red cabbage. I think this is better. Like some other reviewers I used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup to balance with the vinegar. Next time I might not use the full amount of cloves; to me its very close to being too strong for this recipe. This was not difficult to make, especially if you have a good food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I doubled the recipe so I could use a whole head of cabbage. I also added an apple and used honey instead of sugar. This made a great twist on a reuben sandwich. I put it on good bread with roast beef and swiss. grilled it up and enjoyed. Lots of flavor and good texture. It can be frozen so I have no problem with making a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Spot on! The sweet-sour taste may not appeal to everyone, but this tastes exactly as it should. The only change I made was to use the same amount of sugar as vinegar because I prefer a little less sour. This is a very easy way to cook cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this according to the directions, but used green cabbage instead of red. I really liked it! My family liked it too, but not as much as I did. I served it with a german themed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Wonderful! I added just a tad more butter, along with 4 whole cloves (instead of the ground cloves) and simmered for 2 hours. Leftovers were even better the next day. Authentic recipe, and totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love this but we only cook it for about 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good! Added about 1 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of the apples and added venison kielbasa. Put it all in a crockpot and cooked on low for 6-7 hours. It was excellent! Surprisingly my 17 year old son thought it was a little too sweet so may try half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love this traditional German dish and the recipe is so easy. As a variation I substitute balsamic vinegar, skip the apple and add a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So good and so easy! Of course I love red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
So freakin' good! I added a sprinkle of brown sugar at the end of cooking...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States