Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is an absolute favorite in my house. My husband raves about it. I usually serve up some bratwurst with it. I never have apple cider vinegar and it works well with white wine vinegar or even white vinegar and a splash of apple juice. I also cool it for about an hour and a half and the texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Sunshíne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
We've got a bunch of red cabbages from our garden and I've been looking for ways to use them. I've made this twice in the last week because it's so good! It goes perfectly with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I had never had cooked cabbage before as a stand some dish but really liked it here. It is very sweet and even though I cut back on the recommended amount of sugar this time I will add even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCauley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Did not like the flavor and thought it had too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I think I am just not a fan of allspice. Call me crazy, but don't skimp on the salt, kinda off sets the allspice in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
AMAZING! Made just as instructed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I made this last weekend, it was delicious! Needed just a tab more sugar than called for. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was very good. I've made it a few times. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Way too much salt and no more cabbage to add to it. Added another apple and cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I did not cook this recipe for the full two hours because I like my veggies a little crispier. It has a nice flavor and makes a pretty side dish with its bright purple color. I also was a little short on the red cabbage and substituted one cup of shredded carrots for the last cup, which gave it a confetti look. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States