Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Depending on your level of vinegar tolerance you may need to play with vinegar/water ratio. For reference, My German husband who loves it when his mouth puckers from vinegar gave this a 6 star rating. I am not a big fan of vinegar and I still thought it was good but would def add more water and less vinegar next time. A few ppl mentioned their food was burning, I had to start adding water every 15 mins or so at about 1 hour to keep it from burning. I would recommend checking your pot at the hour mark and add a little water if it looks like its burning and do this every 15 mins or so until it is ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
It was tasty enough and the kitchen aromas were wonderful while it was cooking, but the ingredients cook down to a small amount of food with too much butter, salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Was a little skeptical at how easy the recipe is to prepare, but just made it last Sunday, 1/26/14, and it was absolutely delicious and so authentic. My only worry was trying to estimate the amount of cabbage as 5 cups of shredded is hard to estimate. Would be better if the recipe stated an approximate size of a head of cabbage. I used one that I would describe as medium large; I did add more water and a bit more cider vinegar as the water will cook off, but not dilute the flavor so don't worry about that. My husband assured me of this as he cooks the best sauerkraut and knows about these things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delish! Rarely do I rate recipes but I couldn't resist sharing how much I loved this one! Served w/ fried potatoes and kielbasa. It's a keeper and will go into my rotation, thanks for sharing it Gramma Jeanette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Ziemann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
easy and yummy--hubby was suspicious but after one bite was a huge fan, and my toddler daughter loved it! I made one substitution---used dark brown sugar instead of white sugar. Also, I cooked in the crockpot on low for 6 hours...this will be a Winter staple in our house- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect! Just like my Grandmother's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Finally a decent red cabbage recipe. My picky husband even loved it. I substituted red wine vinegar in place of Apple cider. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Oh, I so wanted to like it. Was I the only one who found this to be too bitter? Because of that bitterness, I just couldn't really enjoy it. It may be just the cabbage but I wonder what can be done to get rid of that bitterness. My hubby liked it although I don't think he loved it. I doubled the recipe after reading rave reviews so I wonder if that made it even more bitter.(having too much cabbage...I don't know...). I will try one more time since I still have half of the cabbage left and see if it comes out any better. I was also a bit surprised at the color. I thought it would be bright purple color just like you see at a restaurant or store bought ones but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Loved it. Added some Carraway Seeds as a previous reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This worked out great-- I added an onion based on other reviews. I wish I would have added a bay leaf but next time. My German relatives agreed it was great, so that's the important thing. It was super easy to make. I literally made it during a phone conference while working from home. I made it 1 day before our shindig and it was fine to reheat. This is a much easier red cabbage recipe than a previous one I tried, but the results were awesome. My house smelled like Oma's kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States