Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
As is, this recipe is a bit salty for my taste. Simple solution, cut back on the salt. I've made this recipe every year for Christmas and it's always a huge hit. I've made a few changes over the years. One is that I add 1 Large Shredded red apple and 1 medium shredded granny smith apple. I've also added 1/3 cup semi-sweet red wine and 3 tablespoons of the apple cider vinegar. It comes out a little sweeter and closer to the way my German grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My family did not care for this. I'd suggest to anyone who decides to make this, cut way back on the salt. I followed the recipe, and 2 tsp of salt is overkill. The flavor of the dish was just "off," and I can't really describe it, but I doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hills, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My Great Grandma from Germany made this every holiday. I fry up 4 strips of bacon and use the grease instead of butter to cook the cabbage, apple and spices in. Then I crumble the bacon and sprinkle it on top in the serving dish. I also use 4-5 whole cloves and 4-5 black pepper corns instead of the ground cloves and pepper. My whole house smells like childhood right now as it is cooking...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I found this recipe very salty, and after simmering for 1.5 hours, the cabbage was mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I really like red cabbage made this way and this recipe is good. The finished product was a bit too sweet for me, but I think I used more apples than required. Next time I'll probably reduce the sugar, though. And I might peel the apples because, while the skins didn't affect the taste, they look a bit weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this tonight for an Oktoberfest potluck. It was delicious and got gobbled up. Very easy make. I only had McIntosh apples but they worked fine. You need a LOT of cabbage because it does reduce a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Wakefield, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I debated between 4 and 5 stars, only because of the salt. I used a half teaspoon, it was plenty. I've tried several different recipes for red cabbage, this one is my favorite. It's not too sweet, not too sour, and makes a nice amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Prepared to spec: Way to bitter, too much vinegar. Perhaps cutting the cider vinegar in half would yield a more balanced flavor. Otherwise, I would not prepare this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I had a craving for cabbage, which I never cook and my man won't eat, and found this recipe. I made it for a family gathering around Octoberfest, and I'm so glad I tried it! Healthy and so yummy. I put everything in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, and it was perfect. And so easy! I only had to stir it a few times, and I had to stop myself from eating it all before my dinner party. A little cloves go a long way IMO, so I only used 1/8 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Also subbed applesauce for the sliced apples, and added half a sliced onion. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used this recipe many time. My boyfriend love it, just the two of us but I always double up and freeze them for our lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States