Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I have been looking for cabbage recipes...since the economy is still "recovering" and cabbage is so darn cheap. This recipe is absolutely great! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Absolutely loved this recipe. We were at friends for dinner and they prepared this recipe. I just had to have it, so she directed me to this site. Thank you for sharing - this will become a family favorite for us as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was really tasty but I needed to add more vinegar because it was a bit too bland at first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I've had delicious red cabbage in Germany and this recipe topped it. :) I loved and so did our guests. My husband was not as much of a fan, but I can't get cabbage into him no matter what I do to it and he still ate it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was pretty good. I had a head of red cabbage I needed to use and I found this recipe. I added a sliced onion and, with the apple, they just melted into the cabbage. The cloves made a surprisingly tasty addition, though I also added a pinch of allspice. Reminds me of a softer, milder sauerkraut. Would make again if we had a "German" night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good dish. My husband and I loved it; kids didn't even want to try it, unfortunately. I think I cooked it too long though. Was a little mushy and I would have preferred it a little crisper. Will watch my cooking temp and time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
"Dump all ingredients in pot and cook." Doesn't get any easier. The result captures the mild sweetness of the cabbage perfectly, the ingredients all enhance the flavor without competing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I got a red cabbage in my produce delivery last week and wondered what I was going to do with it. So thrilled I came across this recipe. What a winner! It was an AMAZING fall recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe said and served it with a roasted pork loin and it paired beautifully. My 3 kids and husband all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
i was scared to do this on my electric stove(i have burned red cabbage even on low before). i threw it all in my slow cooker along w/ an onion. i cooked on high 30 mins and then low for 2-3 hrs. the flavor was good. maybe a tad too vinegary. next time i will try brown sugar and a little less vinegar. thanks so much for the recipe! served w/ venison schnitzel and turos csusza(pasta with cottaged cheese) all from this site. update: this was better the next day. gives it time for the flavors to blend more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
i love red cabbage, but this was not like my nannnies. there was something about the smell. the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States