Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was delicious, even though I somehow managed to burn the cabbage. After only 1 hour of simmering on low heat, the bottom of my pot was completely burned, along with a lot of the cabbage. If anyone has any suggestions about what could have caused this, please let me know. The recipe says to add only 3 tablespoons of water, but maybe more is needed. The unburned part of the cabbage was delicious! This is a wonderful dish, and I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is SO GOOD! Almost better than how delicious it is is the fact that it's super easy to prepare. Definitely recommend cooking for the full two hours, also I added one chopped onion. I will be making this again...and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Will cut the vinegar back the next time I double this recipe. A tad too tart, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made this exactly as written and thought it was amazing. Even DH, who usually inhales, then asks for seconds, stopped a moment to comment on how good it was! A perfect blend of sweetness and tartness, this will go into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was very tasty I would not change a thing. I think it is my very way to eat cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this with the Sauerbraten I on this site and now my neighbors are asking me to fix them some more to chow down on. This was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe for a slow-cooker. I dump everything in the cooker, turn it on low for 5-6 hours and go. I don't change a thing. When something is this good, leave it alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I didn't care for this. I am not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had been searching for a recipe for Red German Cabbage ever since my husband and I had some in a German restaurant in Pennsylvania many years ago. This recipe was very easy to prepare and hit a home run. I will reduce the salt a little bit next time. I didn't have any cloves so used allspice in place of it. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We LOVED this dish. I was looking for an authentic recipe after having cabbage served this way at a German restaurant. The combination of the butter, vinegar and sugar make the dish great. I followed the recipe and the cooking time which seemed long but it really needed the hour to cook. I didn't have cloves but used a dash of cinnamon instead. I read that cinnamon or allspice can be used as a substitute for cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States