Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Tasted just like the "real kind" that I had in Germany many years ago! Easy AND tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Made it as indicated, but simmered it in a crock pot. Absolutely delicious! Even my picky eaters liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I like my veggies cooked so they are soft and crunchy. You lose so much nutritional value by cooking too long. Cabbage has a lot of nutritional benefits. I cooked mine maybe 20 minutes so the cabbage was crunchy and the apples were soft. It turned out great! Next time I might use Bragg's Apple Cider vinegar with a more natural sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Made this yesterday. FABULOUS! I used a huge granny smith and used stevia rather than sugar and it turned out fine this way. The ground clove was interestingly wonderful in this. About one half of a medium sized cabbage equaled the 5 cups. Next time I'll double the recipe for sure. I braised the cabbage for over 2.5 hours. Delicious, nutritious and actually so simple to make and tweak according to personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I love German food. One of my favorite things at a German restaurant is the red cabbage. This recipe taste just like my favorite local German restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is the real deal! I think it's actually better than our local german restaurant makes. i wouldn't change a thing other than i may cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Heller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Excellent recipe! Just the right mix of sweet and sour. I was a little wary of adding clove, but I figured I should step outside my comfort zone. Glad I did. Quite easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I was looking for a recipe to use up leftover red cabbage and was skeptical, but this recipe didn't disappoint. I didn't have a green apple, so I used a small gala, a little less sugar, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made this tonight with sauerbraten. The BEST red cabbage recipe I've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This has become my go to staple for the New Year. I use a large head about five times the recipe and keep it in the fridge for easy side dish or to quell a late night sweet tooth urge! I replace the sugar with stevia and honey making it healthier and less calories. I also cut the salt, personal preference. I have also used too ripe to eat pears for the apples and it was just as good. Love this low cost, low cal high fiber nutritious side dush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States