Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I recently went to dinner at my extended family's home and they served up this dish. It was absolutely fantastic! Admittedly, I enjoy cabbage. Admittedly, I am not big on cloves. But, put together and is terribly tasty. After I found out the recipe was from here I immediately looked it up and was surprised by what little feedback there was. I must say I probably would have skipped this recipe over with so few people having tried it. How great that I was able to have an opportunity to try this keeper of a recipe. It is on my stove as we speak (really) and I am going to cook it just as directed for the full 2 hours. I know first hand it is worth it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've never had this before, but I made it today for a German themed dinner. It is AMAZING! The only thing I did was add a chopped onion, and I put a little more clove in it (because I LOVE clove and thought it would be great with this). Another lady brought a different version of this and put Caraway seed in hers. It may be good in this recipe for something different. :) Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
YUM, YUM, YUM! I doubled the recipe and kept eating it as it was cooking. DELICIOUS! I don't usually make recipes as they are printed - have to do my own thing - but I did this one exactly as printed. I really could have kept eating it all!! But I restrained myself - with great difficulty. Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Oh My Goodness, this is wonderful. I actually served it at room temperature. It was a perfect condiment to add to our ham dinner. It was wonderful tested whiile warm, terrific at room temperature and eaqually wonderful cold from the refrigerator. Will definiely make this again. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. SUPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I made it for an Oktoberfest inspired b-day party. It smelled awful while it was cooking so I was a little nervous but the results were well worth the smell. The only problem I had was I wish I had made more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner because my husband and grandmother wanted it. Growing up I disliked sweet/sour cabbage, and how it smells while cooking , but after tasting - I am a convert! The only addition I made was to add one diced onion. Many other family members who don't eat cabbage loved it too. We ended up with an empty bowl and I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I used to get this same red cabbage at alittle resturant inside a cattle sells barn in west , tx. (same town they have the world famous westfest) I have looked everwhere for it and now my life is complete,I did add 1tsp. of carraway seeds to give it a little rye bread flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Outstanding, better than the restaurant fare. Husband and I ate almost all of it. Made just as described, with just cutting back on the vinegar, sugar and spices a bit, figured I could add more at end it need be. It was a small head of cabbage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I love this so much, it could easily be my favorite red cabbage recipe. Perfect as written, no substitutions, no additions! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Delicious! Didn't know red cabbage could taste so good. I will cut the sugar by half next time and perhaps use an additional apple to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States