Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I love German red cabbage so decided to try this along with a sauerbraten which recipe I found on this site as well. All in all the meal was just TOO sour and I didn't enjoy ANYTHING. I doubled the recipe and all leftovers got tossed. I'm still giving this 4 stars b/c it's not the cabbage's fault I made such a sour meal. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
There's a very good German restaurant in town that makes a delicious red cabbage. I think this is better. Like some other reviewers I used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup to balance with the vinegar. Next time I might not use the full amount of cloves; to me its very close to being too strong for this recipe. This was not difficult to make, especially if you have a good food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I doubled the recipe so I could use a whole head of cabbage. I also added an apple and used honey instead of sugar. This made a great twist on a reuben sandwich. I put it on good bread with roast beef and swiss. grilled it up and enjoyed. Lots of flavor and good texture. It can be frozen so I have no problem with making a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Spot on! The sweet-sour taste may not appeal to everyone, but this tastes exactly as it should. The only change I made was to use the same amount of sugar as vinegar because I prefer a little less sour. This is a very easy way to cook cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this according to the directions, but used green cabbage instead of red. I really liked it! My family liked it too, but not as much as I did. I served it with a german themed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Wonderful! I added just a tad more butter, along with 4 whole cloves (instead of the ground cloves) and simmered for 2 hours. Leftovers were even better the next day. Authentic recipe, and totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love this but we only cook it for about 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good! Added about 1 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of the apples and added venison kielbasa. Put it all in a crockpot and cooked on low for 6-7 hours. It was excellent! Surprisingly my 17 year old son thought it was a little too sweet so may try half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love this traditional German dish and the recipe is so easy. As a variation I substitute balsamic vinegar, skip the apple and add a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So good and so easy! Of course I love red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States