Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent. I made 2 small changes that had been suggested. I added about 1/4 c diced onions (sauted) and 2 strips of crumbled bacon. I think they added to the recipe but the recipe is just so good. I have eaten a lot of red cabbage at German restaurants and this is the best I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Just like my grandmother used to make....I remember her making this when I was a young girl. She died before I learned to cook and didn't have the time for her to teach me. My husband and I both had German grandmothers and this recipe is absolutely the best!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Perfect. It tastes just like the red cabbage at Edelweiss Restaurant in Fort Worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Such a hit!! We did not have any green apples on hand, so omitted them and it was still fabulous. Good alternative for boiled-to-death green cabbage the next time you make corned beef! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I cut down on the sugar and salt. Tasted it after the 2 hours cooking and it was OK but too sweet and sour. Looked over the recipe again and realized I'd forgotten the butter! Shot a pat or so in and cooked for another 45 min and tasted again and it was fantastic. The butter gives a rich earthiness so don't omit it. My Papa is coming over for dinner for a German meal. Rouladen, Spaezle & Red cabbage. Can't wait to see what he thinks because we usually cook it with caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband loves, loves, loves red cabbage. In an effort to get away from store bought jar type foods, I made this up for him. It was a hit for sure and makes a lot more than feeding just four people - it lasts in the refrigerator for at least a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Not only delicious but incredibly healthy! Par-cooked cabbage releases much more nutrients than raw. I used stevia instead of sugar and less salt (added a pinch of caraway seeds for punch). I made a double recipe hoping to have left overs but the bowl was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I love German red cabbage so decided to try this along with a sauerbraten which recipe I found on this site as well. All in all the meal was just TOO sour and I didn't enjoy ANYTHING. I doubled the recipe and all leftovers got tossed. I'm still giving this 4 stars b/c it's not the cabbage's fault I made such a sour meal. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
There's a very good German restaurant in town that makes a delicious red cabbage. I think this is better. Like some other reviewers I used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup to balance with the vinegar. Next time I might not use the full amount of cloves; to me its very close to being too strong for this recipe. This was not difficult to make, especially if you have a good food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I doubled the recipe so I could use a whole head of cabbage. I also added an apple and used honey instead of sugar. This made a great twist on a reuben sandwich. I put it on good bread with roast beef and swiss. grilled it up and enjoyed. Lots of flavor and good texture. It can be frozen so I have no problem with making a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States