Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I had never had cooked cabbage before as a stand some dish but really liked it here. It is very sweet and even though I cut back on the recommended amount of sugar this time I will add even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCauley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Did not like the flavor and thought it had too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I think I am just not a fan of allspice. Call me crazy, but don't skimp on the salt, kinda off sets the allspice in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
AMAZING! Made just as instructed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I made this last weekend, it was delicious! Needed just a tab more sugar than called for. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was very good. I've made it a few times. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Way too much salt and no more cabbage to add to it. Added another apple and cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I did not cook this recipe for the full two hours because I like my veggies a little crispier. It has a nice flavor and makes a pretty side dish with its bright purple color. I also was a little short on the red cabbage and substituted one cup of shredded carrots for the last cup, which gave it a confetti look. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe now over a dozen times and its amazing. My German husband just loves it and it reminds of our trip to Germany every time we eat it. I have only made it with green cabbage, one of these days I will try the red. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
It was tasty enough and the kitchen aromas were wonderful while it was cooking, but the ingredients cook down to a small amount of food with too much butter, salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States