Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Prepared to spec: Way to bitter, too much vinegar. Perhaps cutting the cider vinegar in half would yield a more balanced flavor. Otherwise, I would not prepare this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I had a craving for cabbage, which I never cook and my man won't eat, and found this recipe. I made it for a family gathering around Octoberfest, and I'm so glad I tried it! Healthy and so yummy. I put everything in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, and it was perfect. And so easy! I only had to stir it a few times, and I had to stop myself from eating it all before my dinner party. A little cloves go a long way IMO, so I only used 1/8 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Also subbed applesauce for the sliced apples, and added half a sliced onion. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used this recipe many time. My boyfriend love it, just the two of us but I always double up and freeze them for our lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made Sauerbraten for the first time and decided to use this recipe for a side, along with Speatzle. I invited a friend who is from Germany over to critique my efforts. This recipe was a hit, very delicious and perfect with the Sauerbraten. My German friend was very complimentary of its taste, everyone loved it. My daughter in law had never eaten a cabbage prepared this way and was amazed at how tasty it was. I will make this again, and at my friends suggestion I will add some caramelized onion, but otherwise it was great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for father's day, followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't change a thing, it was absolutely delicious, definitely not what I expected BUT SO MUCH BETTER!! Great Recipe Sarabug76. I had this along with Traditional Sauerbraten http://allrecipes.com/recipe/traditional-sauerbraten/ and Kartoffel Kloesse Potato Dumplings http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Kartoffel-Kloesse-Potato-Dumplings they all complimented each other so well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
OMG. I've had some great cabbage but this was out of this world. Pair this with Beirocks or Rouladon and mashed potatoes and you'll have half of Germany lining up for dinner. This is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I really do not like cloves so it was a given that I left that ingredient out. I think I should of let it cook just a little longer to let the apples soften, and after tasting it I added a tad bit more sugar. But overall this was really good! I served it with Kielbasa and potatoes. My boys said it was a nice change from the sauerkraut I normally serve. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Although I'm a well-seasoned cook this was my first time cooking red cabbage. I read a lot of the recipes and settled on this one. I never changed it at all and it was perfect and amazing. Just enough of the sweet and tangy flavour to make my taste buds scream in delight.I love sauerkraut and this made a lovely change. I can't wait to make this again and I will be making it often. Thank you so much sarabug76
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent. I made 2 small changes that had been suggested. I added about 1/4 c diced onions (sauted) and 2 strips of crumbled bacon. I think they added to the recipe but the recipe is just so good. I have eaten a lot of red cabbage at German restaurants and this is the best I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Just like my grandmother used to make....I remember her making this when I was a young girl. She died before I learned to cook and didn't have the time for her to teach me. My husband and I both had German grandmothers and this recipe is absolutely the best!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States