Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I found this recipe very salty, and after simmering for 1.5 hours, the cabbage was mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I really like red cabbage made this way and this recipe is good. The finished product was a bit too sweet for me, but I think I used more apples than required. Next time I'll probably reduce the sugar, though. And I might peel the apples because, while the skins didn't affect the taste, they look a bit weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this tonight for an Oktoberfest potluck. It was delicious and got gobbled up. Very easy make. I only had McIntosh apples but they worked fine. You need a LOT of cabbage because it does reduce a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Wakefield, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I debated between 4 and 5 stars, only because of the salt. I used a half teaspoon, it was plenty. I've tried several different recipes for red cabbage, this one is my favorite. It's not too sweet, not too sour, and makes a nice amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Prepared to spec: Way to bitter, too much vinegar. Perhaps cutting the cider vinegar in half would yield a more balanced flavor. Otherwise, I would not prepare this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I had a craving for cabbage, which I never cook and my man won't eat, and found this recipe. I made it for a family gathering around Octoberfest, and I'm so glad I tried it! Healthy and so yummy. I put everything in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, and it was perfect. And so easy! I only had to stir it a few times, and I had to stop myself from eating it all before my dinner party. A little cloves go a long way IMO, so I only used 1/8 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Also subbed applesauce for the sliced apples, and added half a sliced onion. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used this recipe many time. My boyfriend love it, just the two of us but I always double up and freeze them for our lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made Sauerbraten for the first time and decided to use this recipe for a side, along with Speatzle. I invited a friend who is from Germany over to critique my efforts. This recipe was a hit, very delicious and perfect with the Sauerbraten. My German friend was very complimentary of its taste, everyone loved it. My daughter in law had never eaten a cabbage prepared this way and was amazed at how tasty it was. I will make this again, and at my friends suggestion I will add some caramelized onion, but otherwise it was great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for father's day, followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't change a thing, it was absolutely delicious, definitely not what I expected BUT SO MUCH BETTER!! Great Recipe Sarabug76. I had this along with Traditional Sauerbraten http://allrecipes.com/recipe/traditional-sauerbraten/ and Kartoffel Kloesse Potato Dumplings http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Kartoffel-Kloesse-Potato-Dumplings they all complimented each other so well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
OMG. I've had some great cabbage but this was out of this world. Pair this with Beirocks or Rouladon and mashed potatoes and you'll have half of Germany lining up for dinner. This is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States