Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
It was a hot day and I had been asked to bring my red cabbage recipe for a pork lunch. I have a good recipe which I usually use but looked online for one I didn't have to cook in the oven. I found this and tried it and it got the seal of approval. My man said "Whatever you have been doing with your red cabbage, do this instead". So yes a good recipe. PS 1 cup of cabbage is 100gm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
GREAT and Easy . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This red cabbage recipe was ok but I prefer cabbage cooked other ways. Certainly is easy. I added a small amount of sliced onion. Be sure the apple is firm and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is almost exactly the same recipe given to me by by German mother in law years ago.. Only difference is instead of butter, she cuts small pieces of bacon and the bacon fat is the oli.. I made this recipe, but can't get away from the bacon.. This is one of my favorite side dishes and is often requested by many of my friends..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! So easy to make, and so delicious. It took me right back to my childhood, when my Hungarian dad would make it, or I would order it at a local German restaurant. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I Love this recipe, and so does my family. I follow the recipe to the letter and am never disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I was looking for a red cabbage recipe to go with an Oktoberfest dinner of brats and German potato salad. After an online search that led me to recipes involving balsamic vinegar, Japanese rice vinegar and other ingredients that seemed too fussy, I came upon this one. It's a winner. My San Francisco foodie guests were scraping the bowl! Only change I made was to cut back on the salt, which seemed excessive, and I also used about 8c cabbage rather than the 5 called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Best red cabbage ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Norris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I found this recipe here year's ago and our family has enjoyed it many many times. Perfect recipe. I DOUBLE the recipe using a bowling ball-sized head of cabbage and double every other ingredient. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Make this the day before! I didn't have ground cloves so threw in some whole ones. The clove flavor was very pronounced the first day but mellowed the next and was super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States