Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! So easy to make, and so delicious. It took me right back to my childhood, when my Hungarian dad would make it, or I would order it at a local German restaurant. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I Love this recipe, and so does my family. I follow the recipe to the letter and am never disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I was looking for a red cabbage recipe to go with an Oktoberfest dinner of brats and German potato salad. After an online search that led me to recipes involving balsamic vinegar, Japanese rice vinegar and other ingredients that seemed too fussy, I came upon this one. It's a winner. My San Francisco foodie guests were scraping the bowl! Only change I made was to cut back on the salt, which seemed excessive, and I also used about 8c cabbage rather than the 5 called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Best red cabbage ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Norris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I found this recipe here year's ago and our family has enjoyed it many many times. Perfect recipe. I DOUBLE the recipe using a bowling ball-sized head of cabbage and double every other ingredient. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Make this the day before! I didn't have ground cloves so threw in some whole ones. The clove flavor was very pronounced the first day but mellowed the next and was super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I had this huge head of red cabbage and tried the recipe , OMG. I love all the flavors. So when it was all gone. I used up the rest of the cabbage, doubled the amount except I only used 1/2 the butter. ( watching my calories). I could not tell the difference . I then froze individual servings. I pulled some out for dinner last night and it was amazing. I will be making again and again. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I will never buy red cabbage again! This recipe is not only easy but delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbie Reed
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is the best recipe for red cabbage ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States