Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was very good. I've made it a few times. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Way too much salt and no more cabbage to add to it. Added another apple and cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I did not cook this recipe for the full two hours because I like my veggies a little crispier. It has a nice flavor and makes a pretty side dish with its bright purple color. I also was a little short on the red cabbage and substituted one cup of shredded carrots for the last cup, which gave it a confetti look. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Depending on your level of vinegar tolerance you may need to play with vinegar/water ratio. For reference, My German husband who loves it when his mouth puckers from vinegar gave this a 6 star rating. I am not a big fan of vinegar and I still thought it was good but would def add more water and less vinegar next time. A few ppl mentioned their food was burning, I had to start adding water every 15 mins or so at about 1 hour to keep it from burning. I would recommend checking your pot at the hour mark and add a little water if it looks like its burning and do this every 15 mins or so until it is ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
It was tasty enough and the kitchen aromas were wonderful while it was cooking, but the ingredients cook down to a small amount of food with too much butter, salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Was a little skeptical at how easy the recipe is to prepare, but just made it last Sunday, 1/26/14, and it was absolutely delicious and so authentic. My only worry was trying to estimate the amount of cabbage as 5 cups of shredded is hard to estimate. Would be better if the recipe stated an approximate size of a head of cabbage. I used one that I would describe as medium large; I did add more water and a bit more cider vinegar as the water will cook off, but not dilute the flavor so don't worry about that. My husband assured me of this as he cooks the best sauerkraut and knows about these things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delish! Rarely do I rate recipes but I couldn't resist sharing how much I loved this one! Served w/ fried potatoes and kielbasa. It's a keeper and will go into my rotation, thanks for sharing it Gramma Jeanette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Ziemann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
easy and yummy--hubby was suspicious but after one bite was a huge fan, and my toddler daughter loved it! I made one substitution---used dark brown sugar instead of white sugar. Also, I cooked in the crockpot on low for 6 hours...this will be a Winter staple in our house- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect! Just like my Grandmother's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Finally a decent red cabbage recipe. My picky husband even loved it. I substituted red wine vinegar in place of Apple cider. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States