Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I love German food. One of my favorite things at a German restaurant is the red cabbage. This recipe taste just like my favorite local German restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is the real deal! I think it's actually better than our local german restaurant makes. i wouldn't change a thing other than i may cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Heller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Excellent recipe! Just the right mix of sweet and sour. I was a little wary of adding clove, but I figured I should step outside my comfort zone. Glad I did. Quite easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I was looking for a recipe to use up leftover red cabbage and was skeptical, but this recipe didn't disappoint. I didn't have a green apple, so I used a small gala, a little less sugar, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made this tonight with sauerbraten. The BEST red cabbage recipe I've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This has become my go to staple for the New Year. I use a large head about five times the recipe and keep it in the fridge for easy side dish or to quell a late night sweet tooth urge! I replace the sugar with stevia and honey making it healthier and less calories. I also cut the salt, personal preference. I have also used too ripe to eat pears for the apples and it was just as good. Love this low cost, low cal high fiber nutritious side dush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
There is but one way to make red cabbage and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was delicious...but made some changes. I decreased the salt to 1 teaspoon, & doubled the vinegar. Had it with pork tenderloin & will make it again. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Too complex and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Boy
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time tonight and it came out great. I had 3 heads of red cabbage so I had to adjust the seasonings. I used 3 teaspoons of salt I did not triple it. I used 1/2 tsp of ground clove instead of 3/4 tsp. I did triple the apple cider vinegar and sugar and 3/4 tsp of black pepper. I also used 2 cups of diced onions and I added about 1 cup of red wine. My wife approved of the finished product and said she would put it up against her mothers red cabbage anytime and her mother is bona fide German!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States