Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love this traditional German dish and the recipe is so easy. As a variation I substitute balsamic vinegar, skip the apple and add a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So good and so easy! Of course I love red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
So freakin' good! I added a sprinkle of brown sugar at the end of cooking...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
tasted wonderful. all the kids liked it. perfect combo of sweet & sour. I used Honey-Crisp apples in it and substituted olive oil for butter. I liked it so much i forwarded the recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was a super easy but excellent recipe. I made this for my German mother in law when we had them over for dinner. I also made Sauerbraten and spatzle. It was a wonderful evening with wonderful food !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I had cabbage that needed to be used up so I thought I would give this a try. I used what I had on hand. I had regular cabbage so I added a package of harvard beets (sweet and sour cooked beets) that I had made earlier in the season. I made this in the slow cooker, threw my beets in frozen, and layered the cabbage and apples on top. Didn`t measure, just put in enough to fill it. Added one sliced onion too. I used brown sugar because that`s what I had, and regular vinegar. Sprinkled with a good generous pinch of salt, added a couple of spoonfuls of butter on top and sprinkled with black pepper and cloves. Cooked this on high about 3.5 hours. Was really good, nice and tangy! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this for our annual Beer Brats and 'Shoes party. Excellent! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/3 cup of applesauce instead of the apples. Also used 5 whole cloves. Worked just fine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe is just perfect. I will NEVER eat red cabbage from a jar again! It is easy to make and so very delicious. The only thing I would do different is cut the apples in quarters and when the cabbage is done remove apples. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krobella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was good, but my family felt the cloves were overpowering. As in other comments, maybe some onion would make it work, or the complete elimination of the cloves. Served with pork loin chops and mashed potatoes. I may make this again, but with changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this for an Oktoberfest party/potluck and everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was cooking the cabbage in a crockpot on high for about 4 hours so I didn't have to sit with it. This also made serving easy because it could be taken straight from the crockpot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States