Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was a super easy but excellent recipe. I made this for my German mother in law when we had them over for dinner. I also made Sauerbraten and spatzle. It was a wonderful evening with wonderful food !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I had cabbage that needed to be used up so I thought I would give this a try. I used what I had on hand. I had regular cabbage so I added a package of harvard beets (sweet and sour cooked beets) that I had made earlier in the season. I made this in the slow cooker, threw my beets in frozen, and layered the cabbage and apples on top. Didn`t measure, just put in enough to fill it. Added one sliced onion too. I used brown sugar because that`s what I had, and regular vinegar. Sprinkled with a good generous pinch of salt, added a couple of spoonfuls of butter on top and sprinkled with black pepper and cloves. Cooked this on high about 3.5 hours. Was really good, nice and tangy! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this for our annual Beer Brats and 'Shoes party. Excellent! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/3 cup of applesauce instead of the apples. Also used 5 whole cloves. Worked just fine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe is just perfect. I will NEVER eat red cabbage from a jar again! It is easy to make and so very delicious. The only thing I would do different is cut the apples in quarters and when the cabbage is done remove apples. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krobella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was good, but my family felt the cloves were overpowering. As in other comments, maybe some onion would make it work, or the complete elimination of the cloves. Served with pork loin chops and mashed potatoes. I may make this again, but with changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this for an Oktoberfest party/potluck and everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was cooking the cabbage in a crockpot on high for about 4 hours so I didn't have to sit with it. This also made serving easy because it could be taken straight from the crockpot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Found a head of organic red cabbage for a price I couldn't refuse. Cooked it this way. We loved it! Used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband wanted traditional sauerbraten with a side of German red cabbage. In the past I've bought this in the jar, not realizing how simple it was to make from scratch. Since our rural grocer did not stock the jarred German red cabbage, I was rescued by this recipe. I did add an extra apple. I assume the apples were to be peeled and did so. The apples cooked up as expected adding just the right something to the cabbage. We both thought this was delicious. No more jars for us. This was perfect with the Traditional Sauerbraten found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have been trying for years to get just the right taste for the red cabbage. This is it. Now I don't have to go to a German Restaurant when I get hungry for a Bavarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I have always loved German Red Cabbage, but just didn't realize how simple it is to make. I added cinnamon to mine, as well, and really liked what it added. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States