Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this according to the directions, but used green cabbage instead of red. I really liked it! My family liked it too, but not as much as I did. I served it with a german themed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Wonderful! I added just a tad more butter, along with 4 whole cloves (instead of the ground cloves) and simmered for 2 hours. Leftovers were even better the next day. Authentic recipe, and totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love this but we only cook it for about 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good! Added about 1 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of the apples and added venison kielbasa. Put it all in a crockpot and cooked on low for 6-7 hours. It was excellent! Surprisingly my 17 year old son thought it was a little too sweet so may try half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love this traditional German dish and the recipe is so easy. As a variation I substitute balsamic vinegar, skip the apple and add a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So good and so easy! Of course I love red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
So freakin' good! I added a sprinkle of brown sugar at the end of cooking...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
tasted wonderful. all the kids liked it. perfect combo of sweet & sour. I used Honey-Crisp apples in it and substituted olive oil for butter. I liked it so much i forwarded the recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was a super easy but excellent recipe. I made this for my German mother in law when we had them over for dinner. I also made Sauerbraten and spatzle. It was a wonderful evening with wonderful food !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I had cabbage that needed to be used up so I thought I would give this a try. I used what I had on hand. I had regular cabbage so I added a package of harvard beets (sweet and sour cooked beets) that I had made earlier in the season. I made this in the slow cooker, threw my beets in frozen, and layered the cabbage and apples on top. Didn`t measure, just put in enough to fill it. Added one sliced onion too. I used brown sugar because that`s what I had, and regular vinegar. Sprinkled with a good generous pinch of salt, added a couple of spoonfuls of butter on top and sprinkled with black pepper and cloves. Cooked this on high about 3.5 hours. Was really good, nice and tangy! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States