Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
OMG. I've had some great cabbage but this was out of this world. Pair this with Beirocks or Rouladon and mashed potatoes and you'll have half of Germany lining up for dinner. This is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I really do not like cloves so it was a given that I left that ingredient out. I think I should of let it cook just a little longer to let the apples soften, and after tasting it I added a tad bit more sugar. But overall this was really good! I served it with Kielbasa and potatoes. My boys said it was a nice change from the sauerkraut I normally serve. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Although I'm a well-seasoned cook this was my first time cooking red cabbage. I read a lot of the recipes and settled on this one. I never changed it at all and it was perfect and amazing. Just enough of the sweet and tangy flavour to make my taste buds scream in delight.I love sauerkraut and this made a lovely change. I can't wait to make this again and I will be making it often. Thank you so much sarabug76
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent. I made 2 small changes that had been suggested. I added about 1/4 c diced onions (sauted) and 2 strips of crumbled bacon. I think they added to the recipe but the recipe is just so good. I have eaten a lot of red cabbage at German restaurants and this is the best I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Just like my grandmother used to make....I remember her making this when I was a young girl. She died before I learned to cook and didn't have the time for her to teach me. My husband and I both had German grandmothers and this recipe is absolutely the best!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Perfect. It tastes just like the red cabbage at Edelweiss Restaurant in Fort Worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Such a hit!! We did not have any green apples on hand, so omitted them and it was still fabulous. Good alternative for boiled-to-death green cabbage the next time you make corned beef! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I cut down on the sugar and salt. Tasted it after the 2 hours cooking and it was OK but too sweet and sour. Looked over the recipe again and realized I'd forgotten the butter! Shot a pat or so in and cooked for another 45 min and tasted again and it was fantastic. The butter gives a rich earthiness so don't omit it. My Papa is coming over for dinner for a German meal. Rouladen, Spaezle & Red cabbage. Can't wait to see what he thinks because we usually cook it with caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband loves, loves, loves red cabbage. In an effort to get away from store bought jar type foods, I made this up for him. It was a hit for sure and makes a lot more than feeding just four people - it lasts in the refrigerator for at least a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Not only delicious but incredibly healthy! Par-cooked cabbage releases much more nutrients than raw. I used stevia instead of sugar and less salt (added a pinch of caraway seeds for punch). I made a double recipe hoping to have left overs but the bowl was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States