Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Too complex and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Boy
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time tonight and it came out great. I had 3 heads of red cabbage so I had to adjust the seasonings. I used 3 teaspoons of salt I did not triple it. I used 1/2 tsp of ground clove instead of 3/4 tsp. I did triple the apple cider vinegar and sugar and 3/4 tsp of black pepper. I also used 2 cups of diced onions and I added about 1 cup of red wine. My wife approved of the finished product and said she would put it up against her mothers red cabbage anytime and her mother is bona fide German!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used agave nectar instead of white sugar. Delicious! I doubled the recipe and froze a couple of portions for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Fabulous! It's the most like red cabbage I've eaten in Germany of any recipe I've tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a good recipe, but for us, needs a little tweaking. It had W-A-Y too much salt and just a little too much sugar (maybe personal taste preferences). I'd start with 1/2 tsp salt, cut the sugar in half the next time and then adjust those ingredients as necessary. At least for us, I think that will give us the correct balance of sweet-sour-savory that we're looking for. I chopped the apple, and liked the way it cooked down and incorporated itself into the red cabbage. I've tried a number of red cabbage recipes on this site, and I must say that this one is right there at the top of my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is my go-to recipe when I get red cabbage from my CSA. I do this in the crock pot with pork chops nestled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good and easy, froze the leftovers into small servings for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
It was a hot day and I had been asked to bring my red cabbage recipe for a pork lunch. I have a good recipe which I usually use but looked online for one I didn't have to cook in the oven. I found this and tried it and it got the seal of approval. My man said "Whatever you have been doing with your red cabbage, do this instead". So yes a good recipe. PS 1 cup of cabbage is 100gm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
GREAT and Easy . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This red cabbage recipe was ok but I prefer cabbage cooked other ways. Certainly is easy. I added a small amount of sliced onion. Be sure the apple is firm and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States