Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Recently had this dish at a wedding so I came home and searched out this recipe. It was SUPER tasty and complimented the wiener schnitzel I made really well. I received MANY compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe, used applesauce for the apple, tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tried this at a friend's German night, it was the hit of the evening. EVERYONE wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga Walchok

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maspeth, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
We were going to my husband's parents for Easter. Both of them are of German descent. I made this recipe for 12 people. It was a big hit with everyone. In fact, my husband's parents ask if they could keep the red cabbage I brought for them later in the week. That was the highest compliment anyone could receive. Thank you for posting this "keeper recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is the easiest and tastiest rcipe for German cabbage that I have tried(I have 4 other recipes) The only addition I made was to add 1 1/2 tsp juniper berries from one of my other recipes.This recipe is the easiest and aawesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Delicious. I was generous with the butter and cabbage, didn't have the apples, and otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this awesome recipe, I did add 1 onion to the recipe but followed the rest to a t. My whole family loved it (and I do have 2 very picky eaters), and it was a hit. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made this for me and my fiance, and both of us prefer our red cabbage to be little sweeter, so I substituted the vinegar for apple juice. I added a tbsp of white vinegar though just to keep enough tartness. Also, I didn't have any cloves or ground cloves on hand, so I used nutmeg which was a great substitute. I think you're better off cooking it as long as you can if you have the time! I let mine simmer 2 hrs. and 15 minutes, and it was great. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe is amazing. It tastes just like my mother's red cabbage. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this for an Oktoberfest gathering. It was so easy and delicious. Everyone who had it asked for the recipe. I will never buy prepared red cabbage again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States