Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is the easiest and tastiest rcipe for German cabbage that I have tried(I have 4 other recipes) The only addition I made was to add 1 1/2 tsp juniper berries from one of my other recipes.This recipe is the easiest and aawesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Delicious. I was generous with the butter and cabbage, didn't have the apples, and otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this awesome recipe, I did add 1 onion to the recipe but followed the rest to a t. My whole family loved it (and I do have 2 very picky eaters), and it was a hit. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made this for me and my fiance, and both of us prefer our red cabbage to be little sweeter, so I substituted the vinegar for apple juice. I added a tbsp of white vinegar though just to keep enough tartness. Also, I didn't have any cloves or ground cloves on hand, so I used nutmeg which was a great substitute. I think you're better off cooking it as long as you can if you have the time! I let mine simmer 2 hrs. and 15 minutes, and it was great. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe is amazing. It tastes just like my mother's red cabbage. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this for an Oktoberfest gathering. It was so easy and delicious. Everyone who had it asked for the recipe. I will never buy prepared red cabbage again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
this was really good. it reminded my husband of his great grandma, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbuyense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My children enjoy this dish, of course it makes this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe is exactly like I've always had in German restaurants and it is so good--tastes like candy! And it was easy to make! I didn't have cider vinegar, so I substituted white wine vinegar and is was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Totally screwed this recipe up the first time I made it as I had run out of ground cloves, had no whole ones and looked for caraway seeds to grind and didn't have those either. So I thought I would just use ground anise (Okay for anyone who thinks that might be a valid alternative...let me say I found it to be pretty darn awful). Made this a second time with ground cloves; what a huge difference! Next time I might increase the apple, lessen the sugar and possibly add a pinch of ground fennel as it would taste more like my grandma's. Thank you sarabug76 for sharing your grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States