Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Recently had this dish at a wedding so I came home and searched out this recipe. It was SUPER tasty and complimented the wiener schnitzel I made really well. I received MANY compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe, used applesauce for the apple, tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tried this at a friend's German night, it was the hit of the evening. EVERYONE wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blindowl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maspeth, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
We were going to my husband's parents for Easter. Both of them are of German descent. I made this recipe for 12 people. It was a big hit with everyone. In fact, my husband's parents ask if they could keep the red cabbage I brought for them later in the week. That was the highest compliment anyone could receive. Thank you for posting this "keeper recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is the easiest and tastiest rcipe for German cabbage that I have tried(I have 4 other recipes) The only addition I made was to add 1 1/2 tsp juniper berries from one of my other recipes.This recipe is the easiest and aawesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Delicious. I was generous with the butter and cabbage, didn't have the apples, and otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this awesome recipe, I did add 1 onion to the recipe but followed the rest to a t. My whole family loved it (and I do have 2 very picky eaters), and it was a hit. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made this for me and my fiance, and both of us prefer our red cabbage to be little sweeter, so I substituted the vinegar for apple juice. I added a tbsp of white vinegar though just to keep enough tartness. Also, I didn't have any cloves or ground cloves on hand, so I used nutmeg which was a great substitute. I think you're better off cooking it as long as you can if you have the time! I let mine simmer 2 hrs. and 15 minutes, and it was great. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe is amazing. It tastes just like my mother's red cabbage. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this for an Oktoberfest gathering. It was so easy and delicious. Everyone who had it asked for the recipe. I will never buy prepared red cabbage again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States