Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Wow, this was great, kids were lining up to get them and just loving it. Made 12 large muffins and 12 mini ones. I did not have vinegar so I omitted it, not sure if it changed the taste so I will bake them with it next time and see. Followed the other suggestion and put it in the fridge.. wow.. very good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These were Soooo good, My friends mom make black bottom's all the time and I could not get a hold of her for the recipe, this was it. I did double the cream cheese toping, but that is My Favorite part! Thank you for this Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkins14carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are great, super yummy cupcakes with an excellent texture and flavor. I only gave it 4 stars because I had problems getting the cupcakes to stay black on the bottom instead of all over - the cream cheese mix sunk to the bottom. Its definitely best to use mini chocolate chips to keep this from happening, and mini muffin pans work fabulously with this! I even had left overs from each batter and put it in a small pan as a little swirl cake, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent !!!!! BUT, I made these like the recipe said the first time and should have listed to anothers advise. I cooked them for the time on the recipe and they burnt. I had to throw the first bacth out. Someone wrote 20 minutes is ENOUGH and it is. Love these cupcakes !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This came out really moist and tasty. I added 1 teaspoon vanilla to cream cheese mixture and followed the rest of the recipe. Baked for 30 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gjohney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These are really good with coffee! Perfect midmorning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
These are very good, the only thing I would change is to use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet chips, but only b/c I prefer milk choc. over semi-sweet, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I think next time I will try peanut butter chips, as I think this will be a nice variation. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Easy to make and DH LOVED them. I had my regular muffin tins up north so I neede to use the large size. I needed to bake the cupcakes about 8 min longer to compensate for size. Now I have "Mini Cakes". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gleason, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Just like mom used to make! I have wanted this recipe for years, used to be a childhood favorite. Thanks so much for the trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States