Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were pretty good! They were really easy to make. Mine sank a little =(. I think I could have cooked them a bit longer. It is a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am so sad that I did not like this!! I saw them last week and was so exited to try them out! They would be great if it wasnt for the chocolate batter part it just tasted so bland and chewy. And like someone else mentioned there is not enough for 18-24 cupcakes more like 12-15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except we made half and it turned out making 24 mini cupcakes plus 2 big ones. Added a bit of extra cocoa and chocolate chips. Used light cream cheese and it worked fine. They turned out AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcook45
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, but a little rich! I guess that is to be expected. Next time I would layer the chocolate/cream cheese batter a little more for a more varied look and taste. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
These were so dry on the bottom I sure thought these would be better than this. I can eat them when they are hot but when they cool they are so tough I just threw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wow these are great! FWI They were done after 25 min and I only got 20 cupcakes. I used the low-fat cream cheese I had on hand and because I was afraid the substitution would make it too runny and spill all over my oven I mixed it up the day before and let the cream cheese mixture set up over night. Then the next morning I made the chocolate cake part and added the cream cheese with a cookie scoop. It sank down perfectly into the chocolate for a nice creamy center and baked up perfect with no spills. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I changed the cocoa to 1/3 cup, added 1 tsp vanilla to filling, and cooked for 20 minutes per other reviewers. These were okay, didn't really think they were that special, though. Didn't have the "wow" factor that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So good, I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
VERY delicious - I would perhaps make the chocolate at the bottom more "chocolatey" (more cocoa & sugar?). Also, I would definitely fill the cupcakes to more than 1/3 full. You'll have to wait until they cool down to get them out of the wrappers, if you do use the wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were really good! Like I read in a few other reviews, I used a cup of mini chocolate chips, added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, and increased the cocoa to 1/3 cup. We baked ours for 20 minutes and made exactly 24 cupcakes. My only critique is that I wish the cake part would have had a richer taste; but it could just be that I'm used to the taste of chocolate cupcake boxed mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States