Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I had extra cream cheese that I had to use up and I did a search and this recipe came up! I'm so glad it did! I make "Wacky Cake" on a regular basis, the cake batter is pretty much the same, I also did as other reviewers did and upped the cocoa to 1/3 cup. The only thing I added was a bit of vanilla to the cream cheese batter. This is a really EASY very delicious cupcake, I love a cupcake that doesn't need frosting, so much easier to transport! I also found that the bake time was about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
These are sensational. I rarely find a recipe with chocolate where you can taste all the flavors. This one you can! You can taste the deep, dark chocolate and the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dennis
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this several times and they are delicious. My only issue is that the lighter batter collapses quickly after removing the cupcakes from the oven and that leaves them looking kind of off. If anyone has a solution, please post. My only thought is that I beat to much air into the lighter batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made these for a potluck and no one fought for the leftovers. I was a bit bummed. They weren't bad but as some of the reviewers have stated- they weren't really wowing. I upped the cocoa and used coffee to make it more chocolate-y but it wasn't that great. I even put a chocolate ganache on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These were great. I think they only needed around 20 min. I must have used too much chocolate batter in the cups because it made fewer overall, and I had extra cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think this recipe was very easy. I baked them for 25 minutes because 30 made them seem over done. I made these for my Christmas goodie bags, but I would like to try them again to perfect them. I doubled the recipe and made 34 muffins and had a lot of cream cheese filling left. SoI made a single batch of chocolate which made another 18. I will use more cream cheese on each muffin next time. I also used mini chocolate chips like one of the comments said, but I think I would prefer regular size. The smaller chips get lost and I like the taste and texture when I buy them from the bakery with the larger chips. For those who said their muffins ran over in the oven, none of mine did. I filled the liners a little over half full to account for the weight of the filling. Good recipe. I just want them more moist and with more cream cheeses next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I thought these were just ok. Recipe made 18, not 24. Not very attractive. Probably won't make again. A similar recipe called Self-Filled Cupcakes I on this site is similar and much better. The directions on that one say to put more cake batter on top of the filling. Made for a prettier cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
so delicious, even better if you make mini bite sized ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I ran out of box cake mix and was looking for an easy cupcake recipe. This recipe is very easy to make and very yummy. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very crumbly. Very rich. If I make it again, I think that I will increase the ratio of cream cheese to chocolate so that the cream cheese will cut some of the richness of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States