Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I was too lazy to form the meat mixture into meatballs, so I sauteed it in a separate pan. I also used leftover cooked rice instead of uncooked (because that's what I had) and added 1/3 cup of cider vinegar to the cabbage mixture for a little more "sour." Chef Daddy Pete was wise to suggest adding brown sugar slowly--I don't think I used the whole quarter-cup. Wonderful healthy recipe that was easy to adjust to my family's tastes. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is CRAZY good! Changes I made (most to just use what I had on hand): No raisins, lime juice instead of lemon, brown rice in the meatballs, canned diced tomatoes instead of whole (and I used two cans because the cabbage mixture was starting to look dry as I accidentally kept the heat too high on the 1 hour simmer), half of my tomato sauce was garlic and basil flavor, and I added nutmeg and garlic powder to the meatballs. I didn't measure anything in the recipe and did everything to taste. Given all these changes, I think this is a recipe that is hard to mess up. It sounds like a lot of lemon (or lime in my case) and brown sugar, but go with it. It's not too sweet or sour, and is truly just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Leigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I'll never stuff cabbage again.... so much easier and tastier. I just added more rice and would prob add another pound of meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved it as written; followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this again. My husband says don't change it. I say not quite so much brown sugar. But I'm still in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLakeshore
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is awesome! Will definitely be a part of our regular family meals. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This dish is so full of flavor. Delicious! I did leave out the raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
To reduce cooking time and give more flavour to the cabbage: Boil the chopped cabbage in salt water just until all denté (do not overcook). Leave cabbage separate from the other ingredients. I used a mix of tomato soup/tomato sauce. Cook the onions with the hamburg. Mix remaining ingredients, except cabbage, with the hamburg. Add spices to taste. I layered as follows: Cabbage by itself in the bottom of the pan; top with the other ingredients; top with cheese and broil in the oven until cheese is bubbling. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this without the raisins and with Costco frozen meatballs to cut down on time. Delicious, healthy (I didn't use a ton of meatballs), and, like the description says, it freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a recipe that I crave!! I've made it a few times. It's perfect for a cold winter day. I precook rice and add more than the recipe calls for. Or I might serve the dish over rice. Sometimes I form meatballs, other times I just saute the meat & keep it ground. The recipe is quite versatile to "play with" the structure. Keep the proportions of sweet & sour the same, that's what makes it so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States