Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Different. Skipped the raisins and reduced the sweet components. If I made this again wouldn't add the rice to the meat balls but instead serve the rest of the dish over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made as suggested, added ground nutmeg (little) everyone liked! Nice and easy. Served overbrown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful. I have the MOST picky eaters as kids and one who detests cabbage, this entire pot was eaten tonight!! My family has asked that this not be a one time meal. Was definitely worth the long cook time as it filled the apartment with such a delightful aroma, everyone was could not wait for it to be done to try it. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe is delicious, only thing I added was a beer because it was a little thick. Shared the soup with my picky relatives and they loved it. Thank you for sharing this, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought my grandma's secret recipe was gone for good, but I swear this is it. Absolutely delicious, and well worth the cooking time. The only changes I made were using regular raisins instead of golden ones, and using white sugar and molasses because I was out of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I thought that this was an excellent recipe and loved the blend of flavors. I left out the raisins because we don't like them but it was still excellent. Also because I don't have time or patience to make meatballs, I used prepared frozen meatballs so the recipe came together in a snap. We served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very easy and tasty. I used a bag of cole slaw mix instead of chopping the cabbage. I also replaced the raisin with a cup of prunes. And to make it the way my family likes it, I crumbled 10 ginger snaps in with the lemon juice, honey and sugar, which gives it a zing and helps thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I wouldn't use this again. I thought the meatballs were hard and the recipe was time consuming. I prefer the ease and taste of the unstuffed cabbage recipe that is all thrown into a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Really amazing and easy to make - takes awhile but most of the time is spent simmering in the pot. Reminds me of the cabbage rolls I grew up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We really liked this. I adjusted this recipe to use 5lbs of ground beef, so I made a LOT of it. I took it easy on the salt and really easy on the sugar. This would have been way too sweet for us as written, so be sure to sweeten it to your taste. The lemon and raisins are a fantastic addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States