Grandma Chase's Nanaimo Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
this was awesome my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have made this several times. I double the filling for a 9x13 pan and I have experimented with different flavors of pudding. My husbands favorite was when I used the "white chocolate" flavor. I added a little Hershey's to change the color to chocolate for something different. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I just made these for my family. Like what another reviewer said, I found it a little difficult to spread the bottom mixture into a 9"x13" pan, it's doable but not easy. The middle layer: I have made Nanaimo bars before using custard powder so I was reluctant to try these with pudding mix. I tasted it and added more because it just tasted like icing to me. If I were to make these again I would deffinately increase the chocolate topping by at least half as this too was nearly impossible to spread, it ended up swirling into the middle layer because it was so sparce to spread.All that being said, my husband & 4 kids all love these...and that's what really matters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Yum! Love nanaimo bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used coconut instead of nuts because my husband cannot eat nuts. I thought these bars were just okay. There wasnt anything wrong with the recipe, it turned out just like the picture. The flavor of the bars were not to my liking. I doubt that I would ever make these again. Its still sitting in my frig and no one is eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe; easy to follow and easily enjoyed by many! I would say that this recipe is not made to fill the 9X13 pan, it fit better in a 9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Wow!! These are fantastic!! I thought my husband was going to melt into a puddle. Easy to make, but you need to watch it when heating stuff, make sure you don't scorch anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Fabulous recipe Grandma Chase! I like this recipe much better without the coconut. They however are very rich and need to be cut into small pieces. Thanks for posting a new summer go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My family and I are Canadian, but live in California. My father requested Nanaimo Bars for Father's Day, since it had been many years since he last had one. Made this recipe for him and he LOVED them (the rest of us too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombiedearest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
yummy..easy to make and the kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States