Grandma Chase's Nanaimo Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is wonderful but our family calls it an eclair cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Thanks Grandma Chase, this is a great recipe! My family LOVED them. I added red food colouring to the middle layer in celebration of Canada Day! I also replaced the walnuts with coconut (Sorry, but it just isn't that classic Canadian dessert without it). I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've eaten a lot of nanaimo bars in my life and most are far too sweet for my liking, this one is definitely tastes much lighter with the sugar which i appreciated. I did miss the coconut but the walnuts were a nice substitute. Although i like the taste of dark and rich chocolate i found the top layer too cocoa-y tasting. Overall i enjoyed the bar but longed for a bit more sweetness, but possibly just because im used to them being overpoweringly sweet. On the other hand my bars looked AMAZING, i made sure to let the top layer get extra cool before spreading and they were absolutely flawless in every layer, very tidy and professional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
yummy..easy to make and the kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My family and I are Canadian, but live in California. My father requested Nanaimo Bars for Father's Day, since it had been many years since he last had one. Made this recipe for him and he LOVED them (the rest of us too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombiedearest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Fabulous recipe Grandma Chase! I like this recipe much better without the coconut. They however are very rich and need to be cut into small pieces. Thanks for posting a new summer go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Wow!! These are fantastic!! I thought my husband was going to melt into a puddle. Easy to make, but you need to watch it when heating stuff, make sure you don't scorch anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe; easy to follow and easily enjoyed by many! I would say that this recipe is not made to fill the 9X13 pan, it fit better in a 9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used coconut instead of nuts because my husband cannot eat nuts. I thought these bars were just okay. There wasnt anything wrong with the recipe, it turned out just like the picture. The flavor of the bars were not to my liking. I doubt that I would ever make these again. Its still sitting in my frig and no one is eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Yum! Love nanaimo bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States