Grandma Carlson's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jamie R
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was delicious! I used premade dough and just unrolled into the pan and it worked great. I also added a little extra seasonings like sage and garlic. Very delicious and easy to make. Bakes quickly also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the best recipe, and very east
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have made this dish twice now, my family can't get enough of it! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe! Blended the onions and celery for my kids, so they could get more veggies. I would use the crust recipe for pies in the future. Great flavor and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
AMAZING! I used gravy instead of the cream of mushroom soup. It was probably thicker then the original, but good. Due to preferences I did not use green beans or corn, but did add garlic and mushrooms to the vegetables and sautéed them. It is a little time-consuming, but well worth it! The original recipe would be GREAT just as it is, these are simply a few changes to fit my family's preferences. (I also doubled the recipe, and put the other pot pie in the freezer) Best pie crust I've ever had! My husband raved about it all night, thank you for the yummy recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katy7703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! The only things I did differently was I used the leftover broth from the turkey itself instead of chicken broth and used dried herbs instead of fresh. I added a little more than 2 cups of turkey and I only had a 9 1/2 inch pie plate so I had too much filling for the pie. I just put the extra into a small casserole and topped it off with some drop biscuits and baked it in with the pie. It came out great that way too! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing!!! Almost makes it worth having turkey more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I live in Costa Rica where we don't have things like frozen pie crusts (or even veggies!) or Crisco - many times have wanted to make one like grandma's but never made crust before, so never attempted it. One night, all I had was a can of cream soup (lucky to find in store!), 2 small cans of peas and mushrooms and some potatoes. I decided to give this a try and while the diced potatoes cooked, I made the crust (1/2 size) using just butter and put the whole thing in a qt size round ceramic casserole dish (about 8 x 4) and baked. Took a little longer for the crust to set in my little countertop oven, but it came out amazingly good! I can only imagine how good it would be if I had all the right ingredients and a proper oven, so try it - if a 1st time crust maker like myself can do it in such a primitive fashion with great results, you can probably make an awesome pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Used pie crust from Pillsbury! Needed to let the chicken broth cook down more then I did, when served it was a bit runny. Next day was perfect. Used peas instead of green beans. Each step took longer then what the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States