Grandma Carlson's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! The only things I did differently was I used the leftover broth from the turkey itself instead of chicken broth and used dried herbs instead of fresh. I added a little more than 2 cups of turkey and I only had a 9 1/2 inch pie plate so I had too much filling for the pie. I just put the extra into a small casserole and topped it off with some drop biscuits and baked it in with the pie. It came out great that way too! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing!!! Almost makes it worth having turkey more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I live in Costa Rica where we don't have things like frozen pie crusts (or even veggies!) or Crisco - many times have wanted to make one like grandma's but never made crust before, so never attempted it. One night, all I had was a can of cream soup (lucky to find in store!), 2 small cans of peas and mushrooms and some potatoes. I decided to give this a try and while the diced potatoes cooked, I made the crust (1/2 size) using just butter and put the whole thing in a qt size round ceramic casserole dish (about 8 x 4) and baked. Took a little longer for the crust to set in my little countertop oven, but it came out amazingly good! I can only imagine how good it would be if I had all the right ingredients and a proper oven, so try it - if a 1st time crust maker like myself can do it in such a primitive fashion with great results, you can probably make an awesome pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Used pie crust from Pillsbury! Needed to let the chicken broth cook down more then I did, when served it was a bit runny. Next day was perfect. Used peas instead of green beans. Each step took longer then what the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I would give this more 4.5 stars. I made this tonight. Four things I did differently was that I used 3 cups of turkey, trying to use up my leftovers, peas instead of green beans, not a real green bean person, and used dried parsley & thyme. Prepared as directed. It looked and smelled great. The thing that was frustrating to me was that the crust was too flakey that when I went to scoop it out from the pie pan, it totally fell apart and looked more like mush on the plate. My son refused to eat it cause of the looks. Then he tried and liked it. My husband loved it. It's wasn't bad. I may try this with a different crust if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Tried this for dinner tonight and it was very yummy! I did not change anything, definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made minor modifications like others, such as: used pre-made pie crust, used peas instead of green beans, used cream of chicken soup b/c thats what I had…. and used a little half and half again, just b/c it was on hand. But, my husband said it was far better than other pot pies I've made. So I definitely would recommend this, and will use it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the best homemade pot pie recipe that I have made. The crust is excellent. I used Crisco butter flavored shortening sticks that I store in the freezer to keep fresh for the vegetable shortening. I did not have any creamed corn or green beans but followed the recipe for everything else. I will make this again and again. When I make it again I will add peas and a potato! Fresh herbs make this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good. Used chicken, less broth, and dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States