Grandma Carlson's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Super good! I used ground turkey instead and it seemed to double the recipe. However, I just doubled the pie crust, used a bigger pan and it worked out great. It's even better the next day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed the directions very closely, although I did do a few things differently. The only reason was because of how much of the particular ingredients I had on hand...certainly nothing against Grandma Carlson! On the contrary, I think a recipe that allows room for tinkering/improvising and still turns out great is a keeper. This one definitely is. I cooked the onion a bit longer than 8 minutes, but the onion I used was BIG. I used olive oil to cook in rather than butter, and one package of ground turkey. Personally, I think turkey can go a little bland so when I was cooking it I added a couple small cloves of minced garlic and a little salt. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, and frozen peas & corn rather than canned. I added the frozen vegetables the same time that I added the broth. It seemed like a lot of filling, and I didn't think this would fit into a pie pan, so I baked it in a deeper Pyrex casserole dish. After reducing the heat to 350, I added 10 minutes extra baking time since the casserole dish was deeper than a typical pie pan. The result was amazing, and my husband has already asked me to make it again. I would have taken a picture, but it didn't last long at my house. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I did modify the recipe just a bit to use most of my Thanksgiving leftovers however. Instead of flouring and browning the turkey, I added the turkey to the skillet and then I used my leftover gravy and topped it off to 2 cups with chicken broth. My recipe probably was a bit thicker because of this, but dang was it good! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airmaleaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Amazingly delicious! I used Thanksgiving turkey, gravy, turkey stock, and threw in the leftover dressing. It was a perfect leftover turkey meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I only used the recipe for the crust and used another recipe on this site for the filling (Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie). The combinatin was excellent! This is one good crust, but not light on the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I used this recipe to make the filling (minus the green beans) and it was a hit! Easy to make and people thought it was store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is delicious! I made these changes: I had leftover phyllo pastry which I used instead of the dough. This was good but I'm sure pastry dough would be equally delicious. I chopped up a large clove of garlic to saute with the onions and celery and I used leftover cooked carrots from Christmas dinner. I increased the turkey to three cups and the flour to three tablespoons - because I had lots of meat and we like to eat meat :) I used peas instead of beans and leftover gravy instead of the mushroom soup. I didn't add any corn. I love the little bit of thyme seasoning - just perfect with turkey. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This dish is sooooooo yummy!!! I have tried lots of recipes on here and this is the first one that I actually felt compelled to leave a review about! I only made a few changes, like I added a little garlic when I was sautee-ing the veggies, I used peas instead of green beans and instead of using cream of mushroom soup I used cream of celery since that's all I had on hand. My kids gobbled it up and my husband raved about it all night! Awesome recipe for leftover turkey or chicken! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Best pot pie I ever made!! Served it to company in individual bowls and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but divided the pastry dough into 5 and used them only as "tops" to mini pie tins... I equally divided the filling into 5 pie tins and covered each tin with pastry dough. This kept it healthier, and each member of my family could enjoy their own pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States