Grandma Carlson's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I would give this more 4.5 stars. I made this tonight. Four things I did differently was that I used 3 cups of turkey, trying to use up my leftovers, peas instead of green beans, not a real green bean person, and used dried parsley & thyme. Prepared as directed. It looked and smelled great. The thing that was frustrating to me was that the crust was too flakey that when I went to scoop it out from the pie pan, it totally fell apart and looked more like mush on the plate. My son refused to eat it cause of the looks. Then he tried and liked it. My husband loved it. It's wasn't bad. I may try this with a different crust if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Tried this for dinner tonight and it was very yummy! I did not change anything, definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made minor modifications like others, such as: used pre-made pie crust, used peas instead of green beans, used cream of chicken soup b/c thats what I had…. and used a little half and half again, just b/c it was on hand. But, my husband said it was far better than other pot pies I've made. So I definitely would recommend this, and will use it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the best homemade pot pie recipe that I have made. The crust is excellent. I used Crisco butter flavored shortening sticks that I store in the freezer to keep fresh for the vegetable shortening. I did not have any creamed corn or green beans but followed the recipe for everything else. I will make this again and again. When I make it again I will add peas and a potato! Fresh herbs make this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good. Used chicken, less broth, and dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I absolutely loved it! My whole family enjoyed it and everyone thought it was delicious. It was very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great crust! I would eliminate the herbs, did not like them in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Petty Viera
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I stuck with the recipe as written and really loved it. I honestly can't think of a single thing I didn't like about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Super delicious with a very easy crust. I used leftover thanksgiving turkey and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was SUPER good. TY Grandma Carlson. This does make a large amount of filling, so I doubled the crust and made it in a large casserole pan. Excellent tasty,flaky crust. I am going to start using this crust recipe on regular pies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States