Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My husband stated this was the best bean soup he had ever eaten. I love the ease of preparation. I did add a ham hock for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband loves bean soup and this is the first time I was able to make it to his liking. With the leftovers I strained the liquid (saved for future use) and cooked down the beans until thick for burritos adding your favorite ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Made it for the 2nd time. Used 1 lb of mixed beans again instead of navy beans and this time I steamed a cottage roll and used the ham broth and cubed cottage roll meat Result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Anything that I can get my 2 year old to have 3 helpings of, gets 5 stars! I too added a ham hock and some extra salt. The results were FAB! My husbnad enjoyed it over his cornbread. Definatley will keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wonderful taste and very easy! I added a ham hock and more salt based on the other reviews. I also added sliced carrots instead of shredded. We served over cornbread. This was a big hit in my house. It turned out very creamy. Wonderful dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Fantastic! This was the first time I made ham & bean soup - was a little hesitant at first by the looks of it but it turned out great & my boyfriend loved it too. I used great northern beans,eliminated the carrots & cut up everything the night before (except for potatoes) & put it all in my slow cooker in the morning (except for potatoes)with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves & salt/pepper. At noon I cut up (3) potatoes, boiled for about 5 minutes then added to soup. I kept it on high all day & turned down to low the last couple hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My family loved this soup! I used small white beans with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I kept it on high for 2 hours and on low for 8 1/2 hours. I will definitely make this again with only one change. I will use 1 tablespoon of salt and 1 tsp of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A great tasting soup plus it is super easy. I cooked mine about 14 hours in the crock pot to get the beans really soft and the soup thick. I thought about adding a ham hock but didn't, deciding it would only add more fat. The flavor of the soup was great without it. I did add a few teaspoons of ham soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was fantastic! I used Great White beans (they turned out so creamy!) and added 7 cups of water. This was a real family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was really good comfort food and I served it over cornbread (the store mixes). I followed others advice and added 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp salt and two bay leaves. I actually did this only 1.5 hours before it was ready b/c I tasted it and thought it was bland, and then read the suggestions. It turned out tasty, but alil thick. Next time I will add 7 C of water like some previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States