Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was some SERIOUSLY tasty ham & beans!! I made it twice and the first time was a bit bland so the second time I took some other reviewers suggestions and used chicken broth instead of water (I used 2 cans) and put in 2 bay leaves. It was HEAVENLY. I couldn't get enough. I used a small turkey ham to cut back on cals/fat and it was delish. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Souper Sara
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
As suggested by other reviewers, I jazzed mine up a bit, for fear of it being too bland. I added 7 cups of water, 3 medium sized ham hocks, along with the 2 cups cubed ham, 2 bay leaves, 1 Tbsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 4 chicken bouillon cubes, and the leaves from the celery. I let it cook on high in my crock pot for 10 hours. I wished I could have let it cook on low for 18 hours or so as some reviewers suggested, but I just didn’t have the time. Luckily, I didn’t matter! Yummy! (Only a little salty – next time I’ll add only 1 tsp of salt with the ham hocks) It went great with some Jiffy cornbread, and passed the boyfriend test with flying colors! (He said it was BETTER than mom used to make!) I’m giving the recipe 3 stars due to the lack of spices. However the reviewers get 5 stars because I don’t think it would have been nearly as good without their recommendations. Overall it averages out at four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I did not soak the beans at all, just rinsed them and then put them in the crock-pot and they turned out soft and creamy. I did take the suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 bay leaves to the pot and I added about a teaspoon of salt but I think it could have used even more.I was afraid of over-salting since I used 2 ham steaks for the ham and those tend to be salty. Next time I try this I think I might try substituting chicken broth for the water for a little extra flavor. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have been married for almost forty years and I am still a lousy cook. I'm good with machines, though. This recipe was seriously delicious and easy enough for a recipe challenged person like me. I followed the recipe, but used variations suggested by others. I used one of those container thingies of chicken broth, one teaspoon of pepper and two bay leaves. Where have you been all my married life, Grandma B?? So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My family loved this soup! I used small white beans with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I kept it on high for 2 hours and on low for 8 1/2 hours. I will definitely make this again with only one change. I will use 1 tablespoon of salt and 1 tsp of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Fantastic! This was the first time I made ham & bean soup - was a little hesitant at first by the looks of it but it turned out great & my boyfriend loved it too. I used great northern beans,eliminated the carrots & cut up everything the night before (except for potatoes) & put it all in my slow cooker in the morning (except for potatoes)with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves & salt/pepper. At noon I cut up (3) potatoes, boiled for about 5 minutes then added to soup. I kept it on high all day & turned down to low the last couple hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A great tasting soup plus it is super easy. I cooked mine about 14 hours in the crock pot to get the beans really soft and the soup thick. I thought about adding a ham hock but didn't, deciding it would only add more fat. The flavor of the soup was great without it. I did add a few teaspoons of ham soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good bean soup! I used a left-over ham bone and added a can of chicken broth and two extra bay leaves. Next time, I'll use a few extra potatoes as they give the soup an extra-nice touch. Until now, my bean soup has been mediocre at best...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was really good comfort food and I served it over cornbread (the store mixes). I followed others advice and added 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp salt and two bay leaves. I actually did this only 1.5 hours before it was ready b/c I tasted it and thought it was bland, and then read the suggestions. It turned out tasty, but alil thick. Next time I will add 7 C of water like some previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This soup was fantastic! The only thing I did different was to substitute chicken broth instead of the water. (My husband doesn't like sage, so that addition would be a personal choice.) We had two meals from it (the two of us); I sent my mom a jar (she loved it also); and my husband took the remainder to work where there have been numerous recipe requests. He is a fireman and if they gave it a "thumbs up"--you know it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States