Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Fantastic! This was the first time I made ham & bean soup - was a little hesitant at first by the looks of it but it turned out great & my boyfriend loved it too. I used great northern beans,eliminated the carrots & cut up everything the night before (except for potatoes) & put it all in my slow cooker in the morning (except for potatoes)with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves & salt/pepper. At noon I cut up (3) potatoes, boiled for about 5 minutes then added to soup. I kept it on high all day & turned down to low the last couple hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was fantastic! I used Great White beans (they turned out so creamy!) and added 7 cups of water. This was a real family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Beautifully simplistic recipe. I will make this again. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that it was a touch too bland for me. Next time, I will try adding something to spice it up just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband loves bean soup and this is the first time I was able to make it to his liking. With the leftovers I strained the liquid (saved for future use) and cooked down the beans until thick for burritos adding your favorite ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My family loved this soup! I used small white beans with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I kept it on high for 2 hours and on low for 8 1/2 hours. I will definitely make this again with only one change. I will use 1 tablespoon of salt and 1 tsp of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I did not soak the beans at all, just rinsed them and then put them in the crock-pot and they turned out soft and creamy. I did take the suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 bay leaves to the pot and I added about a teaspoon of salt but I think it could have used even more.I was afraid of over-salting since I used 2 ham steaks for the ham and those tend to be salty. Next time I try this I think I might try substituting chicken broth for the water for a little extra flavor. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was really good comfort food and I served it over cornbread (the store mixes). I followed others advice and added 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp salt and two bay leaves. I actually did this only 1.5 hours before it was ready b/c I tasted it and thought it was bland, and then read the suggestions. It turned out tasty, but alil thick. Next time I will add 7 C of water like some previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My husband stated this was the best bean soup he had ever eaten. I love the ease of preparation. I did add a ham hock for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Made it for the 2nd time. Used 1 lb of mixed beans again instead of navy beans and this time I steamed a cottage roll and used the ham broth and cubed cottage roll meat Result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wonderful taste and very easy! I added a ham hock and more salt based on the other reviews. I also added sliced carrots instead of shredded. We served over cornbread. This was a big hit in my house. It turned out very creamy. Wonderful dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States