Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Growing up my mother always made soup or chili in the crock pot on Halloween and I've carried on the tradition ever since. I made this last year and we all loved it. I was a little leery about shredding the carrots and dicing all the rest of the vegetables. I was always taught to cut large chunks for the crock pot. I follow the directions as written and was glad I did. I will make this again this year for Halloween and can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I have a family of four and wanted to make a double batch so I could freeze half so I doubled this recipe and put half in the crockpot and half in my heavy pot. It came out MUCH better in the pot. I even ended up transferring the crockpot batch to the pot to get it to a creamy consistency. With half the double batch we were able to eat twice and have some leftovers still. I used 1 quart of chicken stock total, so about 2 cups in each batch. Then I covered with water and added 1 bouillon cube to each batch. I also added one bay leaf to each and 1 tsp. salt & pepper to each. I bought a pack of ham hocks after reading some reviews. It came with 4 in there, I used 2 in each. This was big mistake. It came out WAY to greasy ( and I think the flavor was probably to much also). Next time I am just going to use ham pieces like the author originally intended ;) The only other changes I made was that I used half navy beans and half great northern (that's what I had). I still ended up cooking the soup all day because I have yet to eat a soup that does not taste better being simmered for several hours. I thought the taste was good but I will give another review when I have tried it with ham pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Loved it!! Also used the chicken broth... best navy bean I've ever eaten..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Oh my goodness is this delicious! This soup really tastes like good ole' fashioned home-cooking! I was looking for a recipe that would be as good as some ham and bean soup that I had at a Sunday church lunch, and this is definitely as good if not better. I've made quite a few recipes off this site and this is my favorite so far for ease and taste. I did make a few recommended modifications: bay leaves, plenty of salt and pepper, chicken broth, and a partially cooked ham steak (my own idea; pan-fried and put pan juices and the little bone in the pot for flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Instead of long soaking of the beans: I rinsed, covered with water and brought to a boil(after soaking, rinse twice). As a other members recommended, I also added bay leaves and also chicken broth in place of the water. I used sliced baby carrots instead of shredded and lots of chopped, fresh flat leaf parsley and salt/freshly cracked pepper to taste. It was so good, I ate almost the entire batch myself in week's time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I cut the recipe for this soup down to 4 servings and used great northern beans instead. I also added half a small white onion, used chicken broth instead of water and added a small can of low sodium V8 and 3 pieces turkey bacon and a bay leaf. This is one of the best soups I've ever made...the broth is just brilliant. I'd recommend it to anyone, especially doctored up. For me the original recipe would be way too bland. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Good soup! I followed the recommendations of the other reviewers (broth and bay leaves). Since I cooked it a LONG time, it got very thick so I added about 4 more cups of broth. My husband likes stews so this was great for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I did not care for this, it was easy and a very nice looking dish but I would not fix it again. To be fair I think it was the flavor of my leftover ham that was the taste I did not like. But I like my beans in a thick gravy over rice better than in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
It was very easy to make and very tasty. The only change I really made was I used one small can of chicken broth and I added a couple boullion cubes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Patrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Tastes delicious, feels healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States