Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Well, I used the rest of a spiral ham and it was way too salty. I used chicken broth as some suggested. I don't know if that contributed to the saltiness or not. I think I used too much ham. I'll try it again next time with different ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was great! I was so pleasantly surprised. I've never had bean soup that I liked before, but my boyfriend asked me to make it for him sometime. I made a couple of changes (added a bay leaf and garlic, left out the potatoes), and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very, Very, GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is absolutely fantastic. Made this for the 2nd time yesterday and it is definitely in the winter soup rotation. Based on others suggestions, I used a 1 quart box of Chicken Broth instead of the water, add a couple of bay leaves, salt/pepper, and a couple dashes of Liquid Smoke. Tastes even better the next day, and the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Fixed this last night it was very good but the beans were almost all gone by the time they were done cooking. I did use the chicken broth and a little water. But very good will make again but maybe with more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlunsford80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubois, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This soup was fantastic! The only thing I did different was to substitute chicken broth instead of the water. (My husband doesn't like sage, so that addition would be a personal choice.) We had two meals from it (the two of us); I sent my mom a jar (she loved it also); and my husband took the remainder to work where there have been numerous recipe requests. He is a fireman and if they gave it a "thumbs up"--you know it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I don't know which is better -- this excellent soup or the AROMA of this soup cooking. In my version, I used Great Northern and lima beans, added more of the specified vegetables (except the potato which I left out), used chicken stock as the cooking broth (not soaking) added garlic, thyme, bay leaf, parsley, and a can of partially drained diced tomatoes. Also, I simmered mine on the stovetop; done in about 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was my first attempt at making bean soup. I took the advice of others and substituted 8 cups of chicken broth for the water, added one large clove of garlic (chopped), 2 bay leaves and a spiral ham bone with ham on it. I cooked it on the stove for 8 hours. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have been married for almost forty years and I am still a lousy cook. I'm good with machines, though. This recipe was seriously delicious and easy enough for a recipe challenged person like me. I followed the recipe, but used variations suggested by others. I used one of those container thingies of chicken broth, one teaspoon of pepper and two bay leaves. Where have you been all my married life, Grandma B?? So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have made some excellent bean soups in the past but this is by far the best bean soup I have ever made. I used 7 cups of chicken broth and a clove of garlic, as another reviewer had stated. I also added a ham bone plus the cubed ham and used 4 oz of tomato sauce toward the end of cooking. Some had stated this was as good as Campbell's soup, but I would venture to say it is far tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States