Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been making this for a while now and with the modifications others have suggested, it makes it awesome. Chicken broth or stock makes it super flavorful along with bay leaf. I even like it with some minced garlic and basil every once in a while-and it does get better the longer it cooks, so start this one out late at night or early in the morning. Thanks GB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Good but less than expected on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
not soupy. very thick and made way too much. Not the best bang for my buck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Easy and delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I have been looking for more recipes using beans for the sake of saving money and getting protein without eating a ton of meat. Very easy to make and is great for lunches for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent BUT....This will be very bland soup without some help. I made with chicken stock vs water and I added per reviews: bay leaves, salt,pepper, garlic, liquid smoke and thyme and it was still pretty bland. So I put in about a pound of ham slice with bone and cooked another 4 hours or so in the slow cooker. Now ya got something! Better yet the next day and thereafter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Needs some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very disapointed in this recipe. Love to come home to a crock pot of dinner, especially when I am coming down with a cold. Soaked great northern beans over night, followed recipe except added a about 2 tbs. of chicken base. Cooked on low all day, was not home to turn it from high to low. Came home so excited and it was blah, beans were almost gone, they were very mushy. No flavor what so ever, maybe it was the ham. Carrots and potatoes were also too mushy. Cooked it for 8 hours. It needed lots of salt and pepper to make it edible. Husband did not care for it either. The good rolls I bought to go with it ended up being most of our dinner. I will make my regular stove top recipe next time we want ham and bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Came out kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and thought there were too many beans. Next time I'd cut the amount of beans in half. The soup had a nice flavor in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANAK4
Home Town: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States