Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good. I did use chicken broth, garlic, 2 bay leaves and 1/2 tsp italian seasoning to add flavor. I simmered it all day in the crock pot on low then finished it up on the stove to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I did as others and used chicken broth, salt and pepper, and 2 bay leaves. It tastes even better the second day. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is fantastic! I used chicken broth instead of water. I can't believe this doesn't have more ratings! Even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I add chicken bouillon to make it more flavorful, 3 cubes for the whole recipe. But this is a great recipe! Just like my grandmother in-laws, but I gave it four stars because it's just so much soup. It filled my 6 quart slow cooker! And after about 8 hours of cooking it started to get mushy. So my suggestion would be to spit the recipe in half and personally I don't want my beans and potatoes to be mush so 6-8 hours in the slow cooker is plenty long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I had to add chicken broth, garlic and oregano to punch up the flavor, but it turned out great. It made a ton and the entire house smelled yummy when we got home. Put this with some crusty bread and it's an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've done this recipe twice and enjoyed it both times. I also use chicken broth and add three bay leaves. Some red-pepper flakes help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a very basic and bland recipe that results in quite a bit of soup. I added a few things for personal flavor like 6 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp cayenne and 1 tsp chili powder. The final touch was one 12oz bottle of Dundee Honey Lager beer. Much, much better with something for your taste buds to savor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe to use for the bag of Bean Soup Mix I had. I am trying to incorporate more beans in our diets to cut back on the red meat in our diets and this was a pleasant change. I pretty much followed the recipe as written but incorporated a few more things that I had on hand.... Instead of diced tomatoes as others had suggested I put in the remaining part of tomatoe sauce that I had in jar in refrigerator. I also added some Sazon, Sofrito, Ham seasoning, I used chicken broth also.. and about 1- 2 cups chopped turkey ham and of course the potatoes. I served with my homemade cornbread and viola dinner! It was a great hit my husband loved it. However I did not cook in crock pot I cooked in a big soup pot all day..... I made Sat and today is MOnday and there isn't even enough left to freeze!!! This is a great recipe for me as I love Soups!! Thanx for Sharing Grandma B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was a hit. Cheap, easy and makes alot. My crock pot was filled to the top. Should be served with warm crusty bread for dunking! I will definitely add this to my soup rotation this winter. I used ham shanks instead of chopped ham. They cost around $1 and add more flavor to the soup. Plus you do get a little bit of meat to shred into the soup. I don't want potatoes in my bean soup so I omitted them but added a clove of minced garlic and some worcestershire sauce (saw that in another recipe). It did need a little salt which I added at the end of the cooking time after tasting the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I wish I had a bigger crock pot--it was filled to the brim. I used a large can of chicken broth instead of water. Very good. I'll use any leftovers to make baked beans. Thanks for the great recipe and suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States